Crippled Bios in Asus Barebone V3-P5G33

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Blitzed, Dec 4, 2007.

1. Blitzed

Blitzed MDL Novice

Dec 4, 2007
  2. Yen

Yen Admin
    Staff Member

May 6, 2007
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. RTShaw

RTShaw MDL Novice

Jul 20, 2007
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Yen

Yen Admin
    Staff Member

May 6, 2007
    In case of my first idea isn't working I could try for a mod. (Rename the P5K-VM 0602 to P5K-VM(V-P5G33) 0302)
    to fool the check.
    I didn't try this before.
    Alternatively you can buy a bios chip with P5K-VM 0602 bios on it and exchange the bios chip.

But I have no experience about. I cannot state for sure if it'll work.
    Should I try for a mod? As you surely know there is a risk to brick the board.

Yen

5. Blitzed

Blitzed MDL Novice

Dec 4, 2007
    Fixed!

Thank you very much Yen! Your first solution worked. At first I got the feeling this AFUDOS wouldn't accept any switches like /pbnc and /n either, but it did! I think this flash was as risky as renaming the bios and forcing it the other way, but someone had to try! I'm very happy with my barebone right now and can recommend it to everyone.

RTShaw, hope this does you well and you're welcome! Merry Christmas to all of you!

6. Yen

Yen Admin
    Staff Member

May 6, 2007
    Glad to hear:). This Afudos seems to be something special. It hasn't got the usual checks like the newer ones. (Check for newer version, which means no downgrade, or check for version)

Yen

7. RTShaw

RTShaw MDL Novice

Jul 20, 2007
    thanks 2 u both..i really apreciate this..

8. RTShaw

RTShaw MDL Novice

Jul 20, 2007
    #8 RTShaw, Dec 9, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2008
  9. LeChuck

LeChuck MDL Novice

Mar 24, 2009