A new tool for ASUS AMI bioses with FC module to remove SLP2.0 revision

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Yen, Jul 25, 2007.

1. Yen

Yen Admin
    Staff Member

May 6, 2007
    #1 Yen, Jul 25, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2007
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. phrunt

phrunt MDL Addicted

May 1, 2007
    Can it be used on other ami bios's still or does this one only work on the slp2.0 bioses?

3. hellohello

hellohello MDL Junior Member

May 10, 2007
    Hi Yen, you know I am new in this.

Can you explain more about what the tool does? From what I get is for Asus AMI bioses with FC module.

How do I know if the bios has FC module? And what is SLP2.0 revision and how to know it? Does this work for other Asus AMI or only for those with FC module + SLP2.0 revision? Hope those questions dont annoy you lol. Thanks

4. Yen

Yen Admin
    Staff Member

May 6, 2007
    Don't mix up the revision of SLP2.0 rule of Asus with SLP2.0 itself!!!

Asus prevented SLIC to work by inserting SLIC into FC module and called that revised SLP2.0 rule. You can read that at changelog of bios.
    Remember that this was one of the first mod methods provided by Aneo at February. (FC-mod).
    First bios with that revised rule was ASUS P5B 1405 and we broke that (see topic) using superstatic and restore ASUSTEK........string

This tool is for AMI ASUS bioses with FC module only. The tool checks itself if the bios has got FC module or not. (You can check by yourself by opening with mmtool 3.12).
    This tool is mainly for people who are interested in different ways to mod.

The advantage is: You don't get a "mod" practically, you get a bios with SLIC such as ASUS is providing, cause you remove their restriction.
    SLIC is again in FC module (which is usually reserved for oem's) and is know to remain after a Asus-update. It's called FC-mod.

It does:
    1, fixes "ASUSTEK........." string in BIOS