775 MotherBoard Suggestions

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by byghtn3, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. byghtn3

    byghtn3 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 10, 2009
    84
    0
    0
    #1 byghtn3, Mar 7, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2010
    Hello,
    I am looking for some suggestions for a "new to me" 775 MB. I am looking for:

    1. Stability + Reliability- Good Caps etc.
    2. Virtualization Technology + 64 Bit
    3. Expandable past 8Gig ram (Cheap Ram)
    4. Support Q6600
    5. SLIC2.1 + W7 Compatible - mod-able BIOS, Maybe already have a ModBIOS available here at MDL
    6. Possible built-in VGA--Don't need massive video HorsePower
    7. No ad-in cards at all if possible & still have full function-lan-sound-video-AIO
    8. Dual/Multiple BIOS BackUp
    9. Total package $CHEAP $CHEAP

    Anyone have any good advice?

    Thanks
    Byghtn3
     
  2. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    805
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. genuine555

    genuine555 MDL Expert

    Oct 3, 2009
    1,639
    56
    60
    Pick either an asus or a gigabyte.
    For 775 they are both very reliable and top quality products.
    The one mentioned by alextheg is very good indeed.

    I have used an asus p5b for allmost 4 years, without the slightest issue.
    Ran an E6420 (2.13ghz) @3.2ghz for three years. very stable, very reliable.
    It has everything, including crashfree bios.
    If you want you can go with the pro or deluxe version.

    P5Q is evenly good, about same specs as above.
     
  4. byghtn3

    byghtn3 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 10, 2009
    84
    0
    0
    I am thinking about trying to run a DOUBLE VIRTUAL system and think I will need Extra ram, VT, and possibly 64bit

    Something like http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/16420-Which-VM-and-How-To-Get-Started/page2


    The online manual says VT is supported and has 1 entry about 64bit
    Dont know how important a high precision timer is to the whole 64bit scheme.

    Are there any other suggestions??

    Thanks for these so far.
    Byghtn3
     
  5. dogfox

    dogfox MDL Novice

    Mar 4, 2008
    33
    2
    0
    I had my HPET set on 32bit running 64 bit os and i would often have a flash rom protection on boot up ... googled it and changed HPET to 64 bit ...its been fine from then on
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. byghtn3

    byghtn3 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 10, 2009
    84
    0
    0
    #6 byghtn3, Mar 11, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
    (OP)
    @DogFox,

    It may be important for 64bit operation, and it is mentioned in the manual as a feature ... BUT ...

    Because this is only a note in the manual, and it is the only reference to 64bit, ,,,Does it mean the mb is completely 64bit compatible? Will it function in 64bit mode? The manual does not expressly say one way or the other.

    Thanks for your input.
    Byghtn3
     
  7. dogfox

    dogfox MDL Novice

    Mar 4, 2008
    33
    2
    0
    #7 dogfox, Mar 12, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2010
    been reading a few reviews for that mb some say it does support 64bit some say it does not ..... but the gigabyte support page for it has 64bit drivers ..so non of the wiser
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. byghtn3

    byghtn3 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 10, 2009
    84
    0
    0
  9. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    805
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...