8.0 to 8.1 Enterprise Upgrade Question?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by harrismail, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. harrismail

    harrismail MDL Member

    Mar 28, 2010
    245
    22
    10
    At the moment I'm happy with having Win 8 Enterprise using MS Toolkit 2.49 but when the time arrives that we can successfully activate Win 8.1 Enterprise, how will I best upgrade?

    Will it be through the App store? or is it going to require an 8.1 Enterprise ISO?

    TIA
     
  2. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,631
    367
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. pun

    pun MDL Senior Member

    Oct 19, 2013
    465
    188
    10
    Clean install is advised, but I upgraded and even the few problems I had in 8 went away promptly.
     
  4. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,280
    1,169
    90
    #6 coleoptere2007, Oct 29, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2013
    Clean install only, as it can"t be upgrade and need a mak key for 8.1

    PS / No upgrade from store is possible
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. pun

    pun MDL Senior Member

    Oct 19, 2013
    465
    188
    10
    Ah that explains it. I had activated my old 8 with a MAK, and it showed me an option to upgrade. And upgrade I did.
     
  6. empireum

    empireum MDL Junior Member

    Oct 25, 2013
    95
    15
    0
    You need to download 8.1 Enterprise ISO if you want to upgrade on it.
     
  7. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,631
    367
    60
    Dear pun

    Slightly off-topic, but we discussed this yesterday. According to MS, for my technet mak win 8 pro, I should not be getting 8.1 upgrade notifications. Yet I am getting them, not pleased with it, and considering also installing win 8 enterprise to get rid of these nags.

    Will have to wait some time though as we have got our largest festival (Diwali) on the weekend. Like Christmas with Christians with all the spending and celebrating it implies.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. pun

    pun MDL Senior Member

    Oct 19, 2013
    465
    188
    10
    I understand your problem, pal. No offence intended. Just trying to infuse some humour there.
    (PS: I'm from Bangalore. We're all set to celebrate Diwali too :D )
     
  9. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,161
    240
    sorry but you can upgrade enterprise as well using an iso (no Store). No absolute need for clean install. You can keep everything when using the same language version which was used at first install of W8ent :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,631
    367
    60
    Again OT, but final one. I lived in Bangalore for 2 years during my studies during the early 1990s. At that time, it was not the prime festival in Karnataka.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,305
    5,797
    150
  12. pun

    pun MDL Senior Member

    Oct 19, 2013
    465
    188
    10
    Check your pm.
     
  13. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,280
    1,169
    90
    Thanks for the correction Paul as i never tried ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. harrismail

    harrismail MDL Member

    Mar 28, 2010
    245
    22
    10
    I just downloaded the MSDN 8.1 Enterprise x86 (with rollup 1) and did a successful "upgrade" to my existing Win 8.0 MSDN x86 Enterprise. I tried KMSpico 9.0.3 and it has activated it?
    Is this the sign of a breakthrough with activating 8.1 Enterprise??
     
  15. Myrrh

    Myrrh MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2008
    1,400
    500
    60
    No breakthrough, all kmspico is doing currently is pointing you at somebody's real (leaked) kms server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. harrismail

    harrismail MDL Member

    Mar 28, 2010
    245
    22
    10
    ....but it must be a step in the right direction?
     
  17. pun

    pun MDL Senior Member

    Oct 19, 2013
    465
    188
    10
    It's the duct-tape kind of solution. A quick fix which may or may not be applicable tomorrow, but once applied, will definitely last six months till a more stable solution emerges.