8.1 version that is comparable to 10 Enterprise 2015 LTSB

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by ccc1522, Sep 17, 2015.

  1. ccc1522

    ccc1522 MDL Junior Member

    Dec 27, 2010
    58
    3
    0
    I can't install 10 on my old machine because of PAE,NX checks. So I was wandering if there is a version of 8.1 that is stripped down like 10 Enterprise 2015 LTSB? My machines are very old with little memory/small drives and I don't need all the unnecessary stuff (metro apps) installed or running.
     
  2. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,683
    13,110
    180
    The other day I was wondering the same question and got to a conclusion:
    I'm already using it, Windows Embedded 8.1 Industry Pro.
    :D
     
  3. ccc1522

    ccc1522 MDL Junior Member

    Dec 27, 2010
    58
    3
    0
    Should I use Windows Embedded 8.1 Industry Pro instead of Windows Embedded 8.1 Industry Enterprise
     
  4. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,683
    13,110
    180
    Either one or the other, Enterprise is fine too.
     
  5. ccc1522

    ccc1522 MDL Junior Member

    Dec 27, 2010
    58
    3
    0
    Sorry, but I can't find a link to download the Windows Embedded 8.1 Industry Enterprise? I've even got my glasses on!!! LOL :confused:
     
  6. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,683
    13,110
    180
    #6 Mr.X, Sep 17, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  7. ccc1522

    ccc1522 MDL Junior Member

    Dec 27, 2010
    58
    3
    0
    I am using the patch to run 8.1 Would like to run 10, but no patch yet.

    The download link is dead??
     
  8. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,683
    13,110
    180
    No. It's a magnet not direct download link, do you know how to torrent?
     
  9. ccc1522

    ccc1522 MDL Junior Member

    Dec 27, 2010
    58
    3
    0
    #9 ccc1522, Sep 17, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2015
    (OP)
    Well I think I do. I put it into the address bar, then it asks me if I want to allow uTorrent to open the file, I say yes, then, usually it starts the download?

    What am I doing wrong?

    I can get this file en_windows_8.1_enterprise_with_update_x86_dvd_4065185.iso from here
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/thr...-8-1-Server-2012r2-with-Update-MSDN-iso-files, but the numbers are different than the one you gave me.

    Thanks for helping me
     
  10. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,683
    13,110
    180
    Problem is not working anymore lol
    Got a new one for you, see edited post above.
     
  11. ccc1522

    ccc1522 MDL Junior Member

    Dec 27, 2010
    58
    3
    0
    Got it :)

    Thanks
     
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,683
    13,110
    180
    You are welcome. For activation you can use KMSAuto Net
     
  13. °ツ

    °ツ MDL Addicted

    Jun 8, 2014
    569
    599
    30
    But it still has Windows Store... just the Apps removed, you can do the same wiith MSMG Toolkit.
     
  14. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,683
    13,110
    180
    Ah! good to know this. I knew about a script made by murphy78 but I believe this works just fine as well, hopefully the OP could see these last posts.
     
  15. ccc1522

    ccc1522 MDL Junior Member

    Dec 27, 2010
    58
    3
    0
    Thanks for the info. I'm going to try it. I have another machine that I haven't done anything to yet.
    Is there a way to remove the store?
    When I use MSMG Toolkit, will I remain activated? Just stripping out all the junk so I have a bare bones OS?
     
  16. °ツ

    °ツ MDL Addicted

    Jun 8, 2014
    569
    599
    30
    Yes, it will modify install.wim, so you will have to reinstall, not sure if it can modify OS on HDD. You can remove store, defender and other crap too.
     
  17. MacAddict01

    MacAddict01 MDL Member

    Mar 3, 2011
    149
    20
    10
    Thanks for this post and the thread information.

    I needed the x64 build for my laptop to try out and think I found an older October 2014 torrent from Murphy. Can I dual boot this with Windows 10? I'd love to run a slimmed down build of Windoze on my e6400 Dell :biggrin: