A8n-vm csm/nbp

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by b166er, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. b166er

    b166er MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    #1 b166er, Aug 27, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
    A8n-vm csm/nbp CMOS Checkum Bad

    Hi,

    Searched the forums and found nothing, not even for A8N.
    I have modded the original BIOS for this board (0114). However, when I try to boot the Windows 7 installer, either from USB or DVD, after POST, I just get a flashing cursor, top left, second character down and the leftmost column is full of capital H's from top to bottom!!!! Never gets any further.
    There is a Beta BIOS for the board on the ASUS site (0119), so I modded this. The 0119 version will boot from either USB or DVD and I am able to install Windows 7. However, EVERY time the computer POSTs, I get CMOS Checksum Bad F1 or F2. No matter what I do (including CLRCLK and removing the battery) I can't get that checksum error to clear.
    I performed the above using AFUDOS2.38 (and AFUDOS2.21) and I also tried using the ASUS Update Utility from within Windows 7.

    The problem is exactly the same with both the unmodded BIOS files too.

    Any ideas, A) Why there is a column of H's using the 0114 BIOS when trying to boot Windows 7 and, more importantly, B) how can I clear the CMOS Checksum error?
     
  2. b166er

    b166er MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    I just tried flashing the latest BIOS for A8n-vm csm, which is identical apart from the GeForce 6150 (the A8n-vm csm/nbp has the 6150b).
    AFUDOS complained about ROMID not matching.
    Will it kill the board if I manage to flash this ROM onto it?
    Can I change the ROMID to match somehow?
    Could the 6150B code be inserted into the ROM for the 6150?

    Desperately trying to save this board from the scrapheap.
     
  3. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. b166er

    b166er MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    Thanks for the reply NoJuan999.
    I'm sorry, I will be more clear.

    I have tried the original BIOS from ASUS for the A8N-VM CSM/NBP found at:
    ftp://ftp.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socket939/A8N-VM_CSM_NBP/0114.zip
    This is the BIOS that shipped with the board. If I try this without modding, neither a Windows 7 or Vista boot disk will boot and I end up with the column of H's on the left and the machine is frozen.
    If I mod the BIOS, I get the same result.

    I have tried the original BETA BIOS from ASUS for the A8N-VM CSM/NBP found at;
    ftp://ftp.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socket939/A8N-VM_CSM_NBP/0119.zip
    With this BIOS either modded or unmodded, Windows 7/Vista will install and boot OK, however, I get a permanent CMOS Checksum Bad error. I have followed the Clear CMOS procedure in section 1.7 of the manual here:
    ftp://ftp.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socket939/A8N-VM_CSM_NBP/e2443_a8n-vm_nbp_u.pdf
    That is, I have removed the power cord, removed the CMOS battery and shorted pins 2-3 of the CLRTC jumper for at least 10 seconds before reversing the procedure.
    Nothing will clear the CMOS Checksum Bad error and I must press F2 to load defaults every time the computer POSTs.

    If I then reflash the 0114 BIOS, the Windows 7 install fails to boot with the H's as before.

    I also tried flashing with different AFUDOS versions and using the ASUS Update tool from within Windows.

    I tried the BIOS you linked to, that is, the wrong one and the one also found, here:
    ftp://ftp.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socket939/A8N-VMCSM/1007.zip
    out of curiosity. AFUDOS said no.

    I'm modding with AMITOOL160, should I try another version?
    Can anyone try this who knows how to test if the checksum is really bad?

    I can upload the ROMs I modded and the original one AFUDOS backed up from the board, if that helps?

    Also, my EIZO monitor of 15 years died today :(

    Please help :)
     
  5. b166er

    b166er MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    Just found this on the ASUS site:
    http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?board_id=1&model=A8N-VM+CSM%2FNBP&id=20071202183236202&page=1&SLanguage=en-us

    Asus really are crap these days. One poor guy here fixed it by getting a BIOS chip for the A8N-VM CSM and turning his board into the inferior model.

    Please could someone have a look please and see why the Checksum is considered bad?
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/cin4jo

    Archive contains:

    0114.ROM.............Untouched from ASUS website...........Checksum OK
    0114.ROM.ORIG.....Backed by AFUDOS before flashing....Checksum OK
    0114_SLIC.ROM.....Modded with AMITOOL160................Checksum OK
    0119.ROM.............Untouched Beta ROM from ASUS.......Checksum BAD
    0119-SLIC.ROM.....Modded with AMITOOL160................Checksum BAD

    The 0114 series will NOT boot Windows 7/Vista
    The 0119 series WILL boot Windows 7/Vista but have permanent Checksum BAD.
     
  6. b166er

    b166er MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    Can someone confirm whether I can fix the checksum or not, please? :)
     
  7. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,938
    10,477
    340
    It seems that the setup defaults when loaded into non volatile memory (at boot) causes a wrong sum there.....every time....
    Either the bios is faulty (Asus did it wrong), or some parts are not updated at flash process....

    To exclude the latter flash it like:

    Afudos /ixxxx.rom /pbnc /n

    xxxx.rom is your original bios.

    Or a sum of a decompressed module is not right...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. b166er

    b166er MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    Thanks Yen, and sorry for the duplicate post. This one had too specific a title and didn't attract enough gurus such as yourself and NoJuan999!
    I tried flashing the BIOS using the command line switches you refer to, but the versions of AFUDOS I used, didn't like them. I will try again and report back.
    I installed Ubuntu 10.04 and GRUB to the MBR, chainloading the Windows bootloader, but still no dice. Still get all the H's and the system locks up.

    In the original 0114 BIOS, there is a section for Trusted Computing, with an option to turn this on or off.
    In the 0119 BETA BIOS, the section Trusted Computing is there, but no option.

    If ASUS have made a broken BIOS available, is there a way to fix it?

    Thanks again, Yen, I really appreciate you taking a look :)
     
  9. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #9 NoJuan999, Sep 9, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2010
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. b166er

    b166er MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    Thanks for the advice NoJuan999.
    I used the version you suggested (2.36); it accepted to switches Yen advised to use.
    I still have the same problem; 'CMOS Checksum Bad' must press F2 to load defaults every boot.

    Any suggestions what to try next fellas?
     
  11. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. b166er

    b166er MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    Thanks, I tried that one, still the same :(
    What have ASUS done to it?
     
  13. b166er

    b166er MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    Yen, any ideas how I can check which module has a bad checksum?