Abit IP35 Pro + Mod = SATA-AHCI Error!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by akashi, Oct 1, 2009.

1. akashi

akashi MDL Novice

Sep 9, 2007
  2. regal

regal MDL Member

Aug 26, 2009
    The only reason v18 wasn't "released" is because Abit quit making motherboards. I've been ruunning v18 for 4 months its the only version that supports EO stepping. V18 came straight from Abit, I haven't used the SLIC modded v18.

3. stefan_b

stefan_b MDL Novice

Aug 29, 2009
    #3 stefan_b, Oct 1, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2009
    Ahci + ip35pro

This is standard behavior - when AHCI is enabled in the BIOS, then any USB - please note, ONLY USB - keyboard will not work in BIOS. By standard, I mean as in "with the Original ABIT Bios". This has never - AFAIK - been sorted, nor will it be.

By resetting the BIOS, you're reverting out of AHCI and thus your USB KB is usable again.

There are 2 ways forward:
    1. Use a PS/2 KB, or at least when you need to enter the BIOS
    2. Sell it to someone that does not use AHCI.

Another side effect of enabling AHCI on an IP35PRO is that you cannot boot off CD/DVD.

4. akashi

akashi MDL Novice

Sep 9, 2007
    Thank you both very much for taking the time to reply to my issue.

I understand that once SATA AHCI mode in enabled, the USB keyboard does not function during BIOS POST, but I can PAUSE the screen while ICH9R is detecting the HDDS with the "Pause/Break" Key.

I have activated Windows 7 with 7Loader, so I really wanted to restore the BIOS back to the original version M629B_17.BIN. But the problem still remains!

If there any way of completely erasing the BIOS before flashing the firmware?

Many thanks.

5. stefan_b

stefan_b MDL Novice

Aug 29, 2009
    A. When you flash the BIOS, the 1st thing the flasher does is to erase the existing information off the flash chip (BIOS). So... you already erased it.