About slic 2.1 in new laptop

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by stirling, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. stirling

    stirling MDL Junior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    62
    0
    0
    Hi all:
    I make a query about something that I have a question considering the point "M" in this thread) (http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/7126-The-Official-Windows-7-Repository). I recently bought a notebook with preinstalled Windows Home Basic. With the SLIC ToolKit x86/x64 (Includes PKey & Cert. Backup), I verify that the bios (ami) has Slic 2.1. I extracted the certificate and key (that is not the same as that at the base of the laptop). The inquiry is: Would be suffice format the entire disk, install another version of Windows (Home premium for that matter), then using the extracted certificate and any key for Home Premium activate windows?
    Thanks
     
  2. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,369
    642
    60
    just use anytime upgrade, enter the new key for say premium and thats it!
     
  3. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,715
    3,084
    300
    The key on the base of the laptop will be an OEM:NONE SLP it requires internet activation whereas the key you extracted with Slic Dump Toolkit is OEM:SLP used to Pre-Activate with your certificate and Slic in bios.
     
  4. stirling

    stirling MDL Junior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    62
    0
    0
    Yes you are rigth; for that I said it´s different than the extracted
     
  5. stirling

    stirling MDL Junior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    62
    0
    0
    Thank for your quickly answer. But if I want to do a clean install, that's right just add the certificate and home premium key?. Where will go the bin. file extracted by the toolkit?
     
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,715
    3,084
    300
    You do not need the .bin file that is used to add slic when doing a bios mod. Yes you just need certifice and a windows SLP key you can also just use daz loader it will just add the certificate and key it will not install the loader because you already have slic2.1 in your bios.
     
  7. stirling

    stirling MDL Junior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    62
    0
    0
    ok, it´s all. Thanks for everybody.:biggrin: