Acer Aspire T180 Vista OEM Question

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Elvis42, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. Elvis42

    Elvis42 MDL Novice

    Sep 30, 2007
    36
    1
    0
    Hello;
    After spending several months reading through the forums here I have a question I hope someone can answer....

    I recently started a work program for a local non-profit...they have a small computer lab..lol..if you can call it that...that consists of 9 Acer Aspire T180 computers with Vista Home Basic preinstalled.....I have worked with XP before and even setup a few small (10 computers or less) networks, but I am a total noob when it comes to Vista....

    They found out that I have some computer experience and asked me to look over the network and see what I could do to improve it..LOL...7 of the 9 computers start to boot and either throw up BSOD or just hang and never finish booting....the 2 remaining computers barely run and are so virus infested I am not sure how they are able to run...there is absolutely no virus protection on this network and they have a always on connection....

    I want to strip everythign down and reinstall....I asked for the installation or recovery software and got told that the local YMCA bought the computers and donated them to the center. After several days of searching through boxes and boxes of software I found exactally zero. no one knows where anything is at and someones brother or cousin or someone originally installed everything but has since been fired, etc, etc, etc....

    I spent a few days searching through the computers and gather up this info on them..they are....

    Acer Aspire T180 that came preinstalled with Vista Home Basic....there are COA with Keys printed on the side of each computer....and after running the numbers through the Acer site beleive everything to be original.....

    so I am curious would it be possible for me to create a master Vista Home Basic DVD for an Acer Aspire T180 that is OEM, preactivated and use the valid keys for each computer?? If so what do I need to do to create the DVD??

    Any help would be greatly appreciated...more than you will ever know :)

    Thanks,
    John
     
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    #2 urie, Jan 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Have a look on this thread
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/2389
    but to be honest watch what you are doing, ain't trying to be funny here and i know you are trying to do the right thing its ok for us guys to install vista xp e.c.t and you know it isn't rite but if you are working please beware not from us but MS. But in saying that if they are acer oem with COA then carry on make your OEM vista dvd, after that it is up to you what version you actually install:) OEM you just need to change the key:) have fun i know you will once you find out how simple it is..:D
     
  3. Elvis42

    Elvis42 MDL Novice

    Sep 30, 2007
    36
    1
    0
    urie,
    thanks for the reply..I have a few questions if I may....and yes they do have the COA & keys on the side of the computer :) I know what you mean about MS....

    I want to create an OEM DVD that doesnt have all the extra bloat in it..you know all the junk that Acer puts in there...also the Vista that is on the computers now is pre SP1..can I create a DVD with SP1 and still use the same valid keys?? also where can I find an iso of vista sp1 that is from ms??

    and finally lol...."3: Take your OEM XRM-MS file that matches your key and copy the file to OEM folder"

    where do I find the OEM XRM-MS file?? as I said I am a total noob when it comes to Vista
    thanks again
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    #4 urie, Jan 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  5. Elvis42

    Elvis42 MDL Novice

    Sep 30, 2007
    36
    1
    0
    urie,
    thanks for the quick reply...I will let you know how it works out
     
  6. echel0n

    echel0n MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2009
    14
    0
    0
    Why not just make this simple and replace the whole OEM folder with a proper ACER OEM folder and be done with it ?
     
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    If you had read full thread you will see Elvis42 doesn't have a vista dvd the laptops came preinstalled.
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    @ Elvis42, you will find the certificate in C:\Windows\System32\OEM folder
     
  9. echel0n

    echel0n MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2009
    14
    0
    0
    Yes I did read the whole thread and understand he doesn't have the dvd but did notice you mentioned he should download one and if he was to download one he could turn it into a oem dvd by copying the asus oem folder over and I guess since it was preinstalled before that the asus slic info would already be present in the bios.
     
  10. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    Yes correct :)i was only giving him info on what version of vista to download save him downloading wrong version mabey one which only has ultimate for example and then having to run vlite e.c.t.to integrate sp1.
     
  11. echel0n

    echel0n MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2009
    14
    0
    0
    Can you intergrate sp1 with vlite on a non-vista os ?
     
  12. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    I'm not sure i think you can iv'e never used it to intergrate sp1 i prefer to have option of all versions on dvd if needed so i downloaded full version of sp1.