Acer Iconia 6120 - mod to recognize mSATA port (like their 'pure' tablets)

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by lphovercraft, Feb 23, 2013.

Tags:
  1. lphovercraft

lphovercraft MDL Novice

May 25, 2012
    I have successfully applied the suggested BIOS mod to the Acer Iconia 6120 dual touch screen netbook. Although menu is much more verbose (and moderately useful to me), the BIOS still doesn't recognize that there's an mSATA SSD drive in the port on the unit. It's definitely receiving power but the machine doesn't know it's 'there'.

The objective is to boot from the mSATA drive, and then mount a 1TB drive in the 2.5" bay for housing virtual instrument libraries, music projects, and audio files. Honestly I didn't think that Acer would make it this difficult to do, since their 'pure' tablets use the mSATA and *only* the mSATA for OS and data.

My background is fairly technical - at one time I built musical instruments with Bob Moog - one of the original guys that created the synthesizer industry. I haven't done that much board work on the micro/mini component scale, but it doesn't exactly scare me either. Again, maybe it's my naivete, but I have a hard time imagining a board mod would be required. If so - so be it.

Anyway, if anyone has a pointer on how to do a low-level check to see whether the device can be seen on a machine level, and then suss out how to create the endpoint that will allow the BIOS to recognize and mount it, I'd be eternally grateful.

And of course, if someone has done this kind of work before and can crib me through it, I'd be happy to discuss a payment/bounty for helping me successfully complete he job. I hope that's not transgressing a rule or form of etiquette here - I'm simply in earnest to get this done so I can finish building out my 'portable studio'.

:headbang:

Thanks in advance for your help. :worthy:

2. Recursion

Recursion MDL Junior Member

Dec 26, 2012
    #2 Recursion, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013