Acronis True Image activation patch

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by nova-s, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. nova-s

    nova-s MDL Addicted

    Aug 22, 2010
    501
    1,833
    30
    post #1 updated to version 23.5.1.17750
     
  2. l33tissw00t

    l33tissw00t MDL Addicted

    Dec 6, 2012
    790
    481
    30
    OP link seems to be down..
     
  3. nova-s

    nova-s MDL Addicted

    Aug 22, 2010
    501
    1,833
    30
    datafilehost is responding slow sometimes, see mirror in the middle of the post below pic...
     
  4. Dude Guyman

    Dude Guyman MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2017
    78
    56
    0
    #684 Dude Guyman, Mar 28, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2019
    Can anyone confirm if the new version properly backs up ext4 file systems yet? They have been claiming it supports it for years, but it has always created a 1:1 backup (including old, overwritten, deleted files) that is ridiculously large, like a 100 GB Linux partition with 8 GB used space would create a ~47 GB backup image. If that is not fixed, I have no reason to mess with the new version yet.

    Thanks.

    PS: I also only make and use the 'recovery' disk/usb, and never leave the bloated mess installed on Windows. That said, I do have to install it and make my own recovery iso so I can add a Linux startup command (iommu=soft) so it will boot properly on certain AMD mainboards.

    EDIT: Figured the only way to know for sure was try it. Acronis STILL will not do EXT4 properly. Says "unknown file system". Macrium Reflect seems to work, but not sure I would trust it yet. Macrium has always given me trouble if not restoring to the exact same drive and partition. Forget different sizes, etc. I may have to try the Terabyte thing mentioned below again. I tried it once and did not care for it much, forgot exactly why.

    The activation patch worked great though, thanks.
     
  5. oliverjia

    oliverjia MDL Addicted

    Mar 1, 2008
    766
    371
    30
    Acronis has this problem for many years and it appears they have no intention to fix it.
    For a truly working solution to backup EXT4 file system, try Terabyte Image for Windows/Linux. It's the only solution that has been consistently working correctly with backing up Linux systems. Drive Snapshot used to be able to backup EXT4 correctly but recently it suffers the same problem with EXT4 as Acronis.
     
  6. Piet12

    Piet12 MDL Novice

    May 3, 2014
    32
    20
    0
    Many BIG thanks for Master nova-s ..........! :D
     
  7. cscs

    cscs MDL Novice

    Apr 9, 2011
    1
    1
    0
    Thanks, Works well with latest 2018 version.
     
  8. skyteddy

    skyteddy MDL Junior Member

    Dec 22, 2009
    91
    107
    0
    hello nova-s, hi all,

    this week I bought a special offer: Acronis True Image 2019 in a box bundled with Acronis Disk Director 12.5 for a very good price.

    What did I find in the box? 2 DVDs, quick start guide, 2 keys and a notice, where I can get the latest versions.

    The DVD is bootable, ATI2019 starts, and in the about-window I can read the version 23.1.1.13110. I have never seen this version before! You? This could be the first release?

    On the DVD I found the file \bin\AcronisTrueImage2019_13110.exe from 26.07.2018

    (My first ATI2019-version I have seen before was 23.2.1.13660 from 21.08.2018.)
     
  9. skyteddy

    skyteddy MDL Junior Member

    Dec 22, 2009
    91
    107
    0
    thanks for the confirmation.
    Sure, the box also contains the key. ;) It's up to you if you want to add this build in your list.
     
  10. MonarchX

    MonarchX MDL Expert

    May 5, 2007
    1,582
    265
    60
    Could someone link me to the bootable ISO version for ATI 2019 (not 2017...)? The OP link to ISO is dead.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. MonarchX

    MonarchX MDL Expert

    May 5, 2007
    1,582
    265
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. MonarchX

    MonarchX MDL Expert

    May 5, 2007
    1,582
    265
    60
    I wonder why Acronis just lets people download the ISO. It's the best way to make backup, much better than using the bloaty Acronis Windows app.


    BTW, could someone share info on how many services, drivers, and tasks the Windows version of ATI creates. 5 for each? I recall the program overtaking PC just like Norton AV bloatware and then if you tweak-delete or disable some of those services and/or drivers, your PC will not boot...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. darataka

    darataka MDL Novice

    Aug 5, 2015
    10
    2
    0
    That's quite a generalization. There are circumstances where, for example, it is not even possible to do a backup using the bootable media and where one is forced to instead run the backup from the Windows application while Windows is up and running. Like if your volumes are encrypted with BitLocker.
     
  14. Piet12

    Piet12 MDL Novice

    May 3, 2014
    32
    20
    0
    Disabled almost all these bloated "services " , only Scheduler2 Service and NonstopBackup Service are on "auto" .
    I need these two services for my " Try & Decide " function , its , in fact, the only function I use from this bloated stuff.........:)
     
  15. SPDIF

    SPDIF MDL Junior Member

    Mar 30, 2014
    79
    36
    0
    As usual, all works excellent NOVA-S!
    Tested on Windows 10 Enterprise X64 (Version 1809) Build 17763.379

    Thanks for the update again, and your ongoing hard work you do for us.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. skyteddy

    skyteddy MDL Junior Member

    Dec 22, 2009
    91
    107
    0
    This is not correct. You can backup each volume/disk (using the bootable media), if encrypted or not. If it's encrypted, you can't backup the volume filesystem-based, but backup sector-by-sector-based.
     
  17. Dude Guyman

    Dude Guyman MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2017
    78
    56
    0
    I can't be precise because I install, make my boot ISO, check around a bit, throw up a little, then immediately restore a backup from before it was installed and go take a shower in bleach to get the filth feel off me, but something like 8+ services were installed and Bonjour was installed...just yuck! They are trying to be a backup, virus protection, cloud service and the kitchen sink app these days. Just NO!
     
  18. Piet12

    Piet12 MDL Novice

    May 3, 2014
    32
    20
    0
    The first thing I always do , after a new version is to totally uninstall the Bonjour , with the "service " .
    I wish they made a seperated Try & Decide program , so without the bloated s*** , which almost nobody uses............! :)