Acronis True Image Boot CD

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by LM3, Jun 13, 2015.

  1. LM3

    LM3 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    88
    4
    0
    I made one with Acronis 2014. Is there a run this from a thumb drive? Rufus does not like it.
     
  2. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,322
    18,136
    340
    I remember Acronis being bitchy in that regards. Afaik there was an option in Acronis or in it's tools to create bootable USB.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. R29k

    R29k MDL GLaDOS

    Feb 13, 2011
    4,650
    4,229
    150
    #3 R29k, Jun 13, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Or you can use grub4dos to make the iso boot on a usb drive.

    You download grub4dos and make the drive bootable with it. Copy gldr to the drive root and copy your iso to the drive. then make a menu.lst on the drive root with this in it. Note the iso name must match the iso on the drive.

    Code:
    timeout 10
    default 0
    
    title Acronis Tools
    map (hd0,0)/acronis.iso (hd32)
    map --hook
    chainloader (hd32)
    boot
    
    title CommandLine
    commandline
    
    title Reboot
    reboot
    
    title Halt
    halt
     
  4. Atari800XL

    Atari800XL MDL Addicted

    Apr 3, 2011
    914
    1,272
    30
    R29k, that's exactly how I used the Acronis bootable iso for years (until I started to use the PE files from a Win8PESE usb).

    Thanks for reminding us of this method, I think I'll try it right now with the new 2016 beta version. Were's still waiting for the 2016 PE files (Media Addon) anyway...
    I'm sure others will advise Easy2Boot too, but the bare-basic Grub4dos method is clean and simple, so thanks again for mentioning it.
     
  5. it does have inbuilt-feature to create the bootable iso, you need to look carefully.
     
  6. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,322
    18,136
    340
    Unfortunately that needs to have that Monster Soft installed. I refuse to do so myself. So R29ks way is very smart and easy.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Jari

    Jari MDL Member

    Jan 18, 2013
    220
    50
    10
    I use E2B for Acronis and others, works just fine ...
     
  8. Atari800XL

    Atari800XL MDL Addicted

    Apr 3, 2011
    914
    1,272
    30
    #8 Atari800XL, Jun 13, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  9. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,796
    6,746
    270
    #9 EFA11, Jun 13, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  10. Atari800XL

    Atari800XL MDL Addicted

    Apr 3, 2011
    914
    1,272
    30
    Thanks for the iso, EFA11! I made the normal (linux) usb earlier today, but when I went back to create the iso file instead of writing directly to usb, it didn't work, so I guess this is what you meant as well...

    (Tested with the grub4dos menu.lst mentioned in this thread. Working nicely, even on a 1gb machine).
     
  11. Atari800XL

    Atari800XL MDL Addicted

    Apr 3, 2011
    914
    1,272
    30
    I've asked about the 2016 PE addon on the Acronis boards, no answer yet... Hmm, not very nice to leave us in the dark.
     
  12. Atari800XL

    Atari800XL MDL Addicted

    Apr 3, 2011
    914
    1,272
    30
    I made the "boot media" usb earlier (direct to usb), but somehow saving as an .iso didn't work, so nice of you to share the iso...
     
  13. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,796
    6,746
    270
    oh I see, yeah I didn't try to usb just clicked iso, guess I got lucky lol
     
  14. Techiekid

    Techiekid MDL Member

    Nov 3, 2009
    101
    13
    10
    Is the iso backwards compatible with older versions of the software, 2013, 2014 ??
     
  15. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,322
    18,136
    340
    That way it is, but not vice versa.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Palladin

    Palladin MDL Senior Member

    Feb 1, 2014
    317
    127
    10
    I just tried E2B for the first time and can confirm that it boots the Acronis 2016 iso no problems. Somewhat knarly setting E2B for a first time use, but once I followed the steps on the web site it worked as advertised.

    While not as slick an interface as Rufus, it does have many advantages. The biggest being able to add multiple iso's to the menu, so it would be conceivable to boot different versions of Acronis 2013/2014/2015/2016 just by copying the iso's to the payload directory. I don't think you can do that with Rufus.

    Thanks for mentioning it. :biggrin:
     
  17. Palladin

    Palladin MDL Senior Member

    Feb 1, 2014
    317
    127
    10
  18. R29k

    R29k MDL GLaDOS

    Feb 13, 2011
    4,650
    4,229
    150
    This method of booting Acronis from usb drive has been around ages now. The reason I use it is because I downloaded a bootable cd version of Acronis that had both True Image and Disk Director in one. I wanted to keep using it without a) Installing any more Acronis products to create new bootable media and b) to switch from cd to usb flash. I haven't touched Acronis installers in years, I generally don't recommend them, there are much better free products available.
    Not sure about WinGrub , my guess is that grub4dos superseded it ? Use the latest version of grub4dos.
     
  19. Atari800XL

    Atari800XL MDL Addicted

    Apr 3, 2011
    914
    1,272
    30