Activate Win8 Pro MSDN ISO against real OA3.0 hardware?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by S_SubZero, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. S_SubZero

    S_SubZero MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2012
    63
    21
    0
    My client has started getting new laptops with Win8, but they have the usual battery of preloaded bloat and junk on them. I really want to do clean installs, but I don't know if, like Win7, Win8 Pro "retail" (MSDN) will activate properly against OA3.0. Has anyone tried?

    This is actually a Lenovo, and it came preloaded with Win7 but had Win8 DVDs. Three of them. THREE DVDs, and there's no way to avoid it installing herp derp Symantec AV and the like. Just installing Win8 off these things has taken the better part of an hour, and it's not done yet. I really, REALLY don't want to use these discs. Ever.
     
  2. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,460
    66,500
    300
    Are you sure they'll even use OA3.0 and not just a retail key of some type? A good way to check is to look at your systems ACPI tables to see if you have one called MSDM.

    I'm still looking for someone whos bought Windows 8 pre-activated on new hardware and has never booted it as I need a bit for bit HDD backup and ACPI dump. The issue I have there is that most people have already powered up and booted into Windows 8 which isn't ideal for my testing. And I suppose not many people would be willing to remove their hard drive from a new PC/laptop, put it in another system to create a backup and then dump the new systems ACPI information.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. CODYQX4

    CODYQX4 MDL Developer

    Sep 4, 2009
    4,803
    45,238
    150
    Daz, while I am not sure about the feasibility of OA3.0, and I doubt it will work, have you been able to acquire OA2.2 (Server 2012) dumps? Since it is supposedly just a slightly modded slic, I believe all you need is a SLIC BIN + OEM xrm-ms and one of the currently leaked keys.

    I haven't heard much on the OEM front but was interested in Server 2012.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. S_SubZero

    S_SubZero MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2012
    63
    21
    0
    I don't know, but the discs it came with say "Windows 8 Pro (OEM Activation 3.0 Required) so I assume they wouldn't install otherwise. It did activate properly without any work on my part.

    Since we have more of these laptops to deploy, I will try another one with the MSDN ISO next week.
     
  5. 5856898

    5856898 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2012
    72
    32
    0
    #5 5856898, Nov 17, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012
  6. S_SubZero

    S_SubZero MDL Junior Member

    Sep 22, 2012
    63
    21
    0
    I'm really trying to avoid (a) having to finalize the existing OS install to install apps to get the key (time waster), and (b) anything weird. If I can't simply install the MSDN version and have it read and activate against the burned-in key, then I'll need to continue using the DVDs.

    Yes, these are Pro, as the sticker on the says Pro, and the discs they come with (as I said above) say Pro.
     
  7. 5856898

    5856898 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2012
    72
    32
    0
    Ok. post here if you have a result.
     
  8. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,460
    66,500
    300
    I've not received any SLIC or certs for Server 2012. There's only the serials which are useless at the moment.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Okabe

    Okabe MDL Novice

    Sep 8, 2012
    3
    1
    0
    There are no generic SLICS for Windows 8 that work to activate OEM like Windows 7. They literally insert a product key in the BIOS, and when you install Windows 8, it reads the key and you have to activate. There is no pre-activated Windows 8. It doesn't exist. Any OEM copy of pre-installed Windows 8 has a forced online activation.

    I know this because I work customer support for a major OEM manufacturer. It's a real PITA for Windows 8 because if there is a problem with activation for a customer, we have to authorize a brand new key for them, and we have to pay MS for a new key. RMAs that require a new MB also need a new key (which costs us), so it's one of the major reasons why every OEM is giving s**t to MS about Windows 8.

    Check your BIOS, and I'll bet you can see the Win8 key in there. If not, you might just see something like 'key installed'. Do yourself a favor and don't give out the key unless you've already activated on it, because I guarantee you it's only going to work for activating once, and then you're on the phone with CS trying to trick us into giving up a new key.
     
  10. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,574
    15,383
    340
    Daz talks about Server 2012, which indeed allows oem:slp activation.

    And the oem:Dm key is useless without the MSDM table. So one can't use others serial & activate.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Okabe

    Okabe MDL Novice

    Sep 8, 2012
    3
    1
    0
    Your key in the BIOS is tied to your hardware (there's a hash in the BIOS, from what we're told), so it shouldn't matter what version of Win8 you install - when it activates, it sees the OEM key, and matches it to the hash in your BIOS, as the key and the hash are unique. MS doesn't give a hoot if you're full of bloat or not.

    iAlso, If you're already bloat installed, you can do a reinstall from inside windows 8 that *should* get rid of the crap unless your OEM is a real bastard and made custom images that force installing s**t like cybercrap dvd.
     
  12. rl9009

    rl9009 MDL Junior Member

    Nov 17, 2012
    67
    62
    0
    Usually Microsoft publishes a piece of whitepaper that details how one preserves OEM "activation"... Wonder when they'll publish it...
     
  13. 5856898

    5856898 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2012
    72
    32
    0
    AFAIK, HW hash would not be stored in BIOS, only OA3.0 Key, CBR(computer build report) which contains HW hash and OEM key would be send to MS. Then MS AVS(Activation and Validation Service) will take over to validate your OEM key as well as HW Hash when your new laptop first bootup with internet connected.