Activating a Toshiba Satellite L40-13G laptop. Complete Beginner, could you some help

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Katylar, Oct 20, 2008.

1. Katylar

Katylar MDL Novice

Sep 23, 2008
    #1 Katylar, Oct 20, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2008
  2. urie

urie Moderator
    Staff Member

May 21, 2007
    #2 urie, Oct 20, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017

Attached Files:

3. Katylar

Katylar MDL Novice

Sep 23, 2008
    Thanks for the Reply, but I'm a little confused.

What do I do with the SLP key? I've already installed vista Ultimate using a OEm DVD I got from a torrent.

my key is 55041-OEM-7332132-00812

That's the key my dvd automatically installed after I chose the Toshiba OEM option.

How to I activate my Vista with the certificate? Thanks. Also, based on my screenshot, do I have a valid SLIC?

4. urie

urie Moderator
    Staff Member

May 21, 2007
    I don't know what type of recovery partition you have and what files are there the torrent dvd you downloaded probably had lots of different oem versions of ultimate i,e, dell hp asus but it have a feeling it may be using a loader we need more info all you really needed was to download windows vista sp1 MSDN version a real vista disk comes with all version not just ultimate and it is the key + certificate you enter that determins what version you install. below is how you can restore a dell machine from recovery partition your's will be different but it will give you an idea.

5. Katylar

Katylar MDL Novice

Sep 23, 2008
    Thank you sir for you informative response.

However, I've decided to stick with my current install of ultimate, since I've configured it to my liking. I've already written off any chance of recovering my original factory image, and I only wrote about saving the partition in my post because I thought that I had to extract my OEM certificate from the factory image.