Activating Windows 10 (KMS, etc.)

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by riahc3, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. riahc3

    riahc3 MDL Addicted

    Jul 29, 2009
    510
    24
    30
    Well, with a official date now, its time to start thinking about activating (or "activating") Windows 10.


    Of course, until its released, we really dont know anything but...theories? Thoughts?
     
  2. MrAnalysis

    MrAnalysis MDL Senior Member

    Aug 4, 2012
    395
    354
    10

    Go down your local skip/PC Repair find a broken Windows 7/8 PC. Now take the KEY install windows 7/8 on your machine with that key and activate it via phone.. Now just upgrade to Windows 10.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,511
    66,655
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. elzna

    elzna MDL Senior Member

    Aug 28, 2013
    436
    54
    10
    #4 elzna, Jun 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015
    mtk already activates the insider preview with windows 8.1 gvlk keys, if we're lucky this also works after rtm, but as daz said probably not without an update from codyqx4
    later on.
     
  5. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,146
    240
    please recall the KMS protocol change from W8 >8.1. It took quite some time until the new data was found and I believe that it'll happen again, my 2 cents:p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,511
    66,655
    300
    With major OS releases they normally change the KMS protocol when it goes RTM. So people should expect the worst but be pleasantly surpised if they've not changed it.

    I think the biggest change happened between Windows 7 to 8. It taken months for a working KMS activator to surface.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Don

    Don MDL Expert

    Jul 29, 2009
    1,366
    124
    60
    As I said in that other thread, they aren't giving you a free copy of 10, they are offering you a free upgrade from 7 or 8 for a specific machine and only for the life of that machine. To me that means no key and no way as there has been in the past to change that key to another machine by making a phone call. Also, in my eyes and probably theirs too, changing the hardware means the old machine is dead.
     
  8. razRA

    razRA MDL Junior Member

    Oct 22, 2012
    68
    13
    0
    I think will be free Windows 10 no need to worry about activation for it.
    But will be some other issues hope not. :D
     
  9. ultimate_live

    ultimate_live MDL Addicted

    Mar 15, 2011
    779
    627
    30
    May the Windows 8 original license key activate Windows 10?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. sevenacids

    sevenacids MDL Addicted

    Aug 17, 2012
    635
    190
    30
    That's how I expect it to work, too. For example, Windows 8/8.1 OEM devices already don't require entering a key, as far as I remember, because a unique one is embedded in BIOS during the manufacturing process, so maybe Windows 10 could just re-use that.

    Still, there's the enterprise side of things and there won't be free upgrade for those machines, so I guess it will be business as usual and we'll get a KMS solution by the experts for people who don't quality for the free upgrade.

    BTW: Interestingly, I got the GWX notification on a GVLK/KMS activated machine (it's 8.1 Pro, not Enterprise) as well.
     
  11. TCM

    TCM MDL Addicted

    Aug 25, 2011
    803
    416
    30
    May vlmcsd live long and prosper.
     
  12. Palladin

    Palladin MDL Senior Member

    Feb 1, 2014
    335
    139
    10
    I got mine today on a Win 7 Ultimate, activated with Daz Loader. Sure surprised me. Anybody else activated with Daz Loader get the notification?

    Just between you, me and the fencepost this is a bit odd. This would be the perfect opportunity for MS to say to Daz Loader activated PC's...."Come on Down" and then when you upgrade, it hoses up your system, downloads all your contacts, and turns you and all of your friends into the FBI. Maybe that's a stretch, but I smell a rat in here somewhere.

    I guess only time will tell.
     
  13. naseap

    naseap MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    489
    123
    10
    Are you serious, FBI, lol. You are watching too many movies. Just because someone that is a contact with a person that uses Daz's loader does not mean anything. What are you smoking, I want some.
     
  14. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,305
    5,805
    150
    Unfortunately you are right, Daz, there will be a new activation mechanism including KMS protocols which would be added to the RTM(or RTM Escrow). Until it is out, there is really no point on discussing activation cracks. :D

    Actually I've heard 2 sayings some time ago, one is MS will give you a win10 COEM key for exchange of retail or COA(for win7 OEM's), the other is MS will just tell you to use the "reset" feature instead of a full re-install, but in this case, if you wreck the HDD after 1 year, and have to replace HDD, by MS definition it's still the same device, but you couldn't do a reset. Guess we just have to see what MS would announce about upgrade mechanisms.
     
  15. manthi

    manthi MDL Novice

    Dec 28, 2011
    1
    0
    0
    got a notification as well, i am with win 7 ultimate bios moded
     
  16. ashmicro

    ashmicro MDL Junior Member

    Mar 2, 2012
    87
    7
    0
    My bold. Yes, I got it on 2 of my Windows 7 Ultimate rigs that use the Daz loader.
     
  17. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,511
    66,655
    300
    Keep in mind what I've said in the loaders thread though.

    So you can reserve the update, but you shouldn't install it until you know what'll happen to your activation status.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. MrAnalysis

    MrAnalysis MDL Senior Member

    Aug 4, 2012
    395
    354
    10
    #18 MrAnalysis, Jun 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015
    Fairly sure we are going to be able to just upgrade to 10 and then make a custom install DVD that will take a new key what we can find within the windows 10 installation after its complete. There will always be a fail safe for if things go bad like a HDD gets trashed, low budget machines with small HDD and not enough space to store a backup etc etc. Plus they could never 100% guarantee the Windows 10 upgrade will work. One one machine it might fail mid upgrade and the person has no backup media to restore to 7/8/8.1 in this case they would need a fresh install. I am confident there will be away of doing this.

    Worst case we fresh install Windows 8.1 upgrade to Windows 10 clean the install up and the backup to DVD with the new restore features.

    Just remember the free WMC keys and making a Windows 8.1 Pro with WMC ISO that would install and accept just the upgrade key. I think the process will be almost identical as a work around to install fresh using an upgrade key.

    Could also go the route installing with no key and then injecting new stuff. Microsoft Toolkit might even still work, or could do it manually using files again from an upgraded activated Windows 10 install.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. riahc3

    riahc3 MDL Addicted

    Jul 29, 2009
    510
    24
    30
    First, thanks for all your work. I understand it is frustrating that idiots put other things in your software and give it a bad name.

    Anyways, it would be...intresting...that Microsoft gives us all keys with our OEM key installed by Windows Loader (talking about Windows 7 here).

    I mean, how would they control that? No online check/update for now has broken your loader.
     
  20. Madeupagain

    Madeupagain MDL Novice

    Jun 2, 2015
    1
    0
    0
    If we create a clean install before we download, how will MS know it is not genuine? I have one genuine and one, hum, perhaps not so genuine. If I reformat the not so genuine before I start to install (I'll be getting the free update for life when I get the other one, if that makes sense) and will have two machines that should qualify, right? Can anyone answer? Because what if I change drives or memory (which I intend to do next September, btw).