Activating Windows 10 on Virtual Machine Deactivates on Host Machine.

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by dasag, Sep 22, 2017.

  1. dasag

    dasag MDL Junior Member

    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    8
    0
    I recently installed Windows 10 on a virtual machine. It activated without any issues.

    However, after restarting, Windows 10 on the host machine is now deactivated. I now know that you can't have windows activated on a virtual machine and a host machine at the same time even though it's on the same computer with the same hardware footprint.

    Is there any way around this problem.?

    Could I run a different version of windows 10 on the virtual machine (eg enterprise), activate that with KMS and still keep activation on the host machine.?

    Or.. could I install windows 7 on the virtual machine, activate with Daz and keep my windows 10 activation on the host.?

    Any help much appreciated. Thks.
     
  2. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    12,433
    13,512
    340
    KMS activations run within windows, ofcourse it works in virtual installs, who told you it wouldn't?
     
  3. dasag

    dasag MDL Junior Member

    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    8
    0
    You can't activate windows 10 on the host computer and on a virtual machine with the same digital license. (using email to activate). I tried that and the host computer deactivated.

    My question is.. will i keep my digital activation on the host computer if i install a copy of windows on a virtual machine activated with KMS.?

    And can windows 7 be installed on a virtual machine activated with DAZ without affecting the windows 10 activation on the host.?

    Thanks
     
  4. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,444
    871
    120
    The answer is Yes you will be activated with an digital license on the host machine !
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dasag

    dasag MDL Junior Member

    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    8
    0
    That would be good. I can install windows 7 on my virtual machine.. activate it with DAZ and not affect my Windows 10 activation on the main computer.?

    That for me would be better than dual booting.
     
  6. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,444
    871
    120
    You need to understand the whole HWID process but to be short I should never affect the host as it has it's own uniqe HWID ! the answer is you will not lose your activation. And even if you will it would be so easy to get it back through troubleshooting activation so go for it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dasag

    dasag MDL Junior Member

    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    8
    0
    I tried installing the same edition of windows 10 on a virtual machine using the same log in details ( i mean email address. )

    When I rebooted, the virtual machine remained activated but the host (main computer) was deactivated. Microsoft must have it set up that way so that you can't have a copy of windows 10 on a host and virtual machine activated at the same time.

    So I now want to install windows 7 on the virtual machine and activate with DAZ. I hope that won't affect the windows 10 activation on the host (main computer).
     
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    12,433
    13,512
    340
    #8 Enthousiast, Sep 22, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2017
    You are switching HWID by entering the linked MSA? Just establish separate HWID's for the host or VM.
     
  9. dasag

    dasag MDL Junior Member

    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    8
    0
    Do you mean i should not enter my MSA (email) during set up.? Will windows 10 anyway.activate itself based on the machine HWID.? or do the microsoft servers not see the same HWID when in a virtual machine.?

    How could i then set up a separate HWID in a VM.?
     
  10. Vieyelt

    Vieyelt MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2009
    60
    5
    0
    On the same machine (host) I run VMware with the same Win10 as the host and other editions of Win10, no coexistence problems at all, all activated at the same time as the host.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    12,433
    13,512
    340
    He uses his linked msa to sign in in both os's without having separate HWID's so the sign in transfers the HWID back and forth.
     
  12. Vieyelt

    Vieyelt MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2009
    60
    5
    0
    That being so and not being able to do without this way of using the machines, I don't know what he is trying to do. He could just do without the msa.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. dasag

    dasag MDL Junior Member

    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    8
    0
    Exactly.. that's what I did. I tried to signed into both OS's using the same MSA.

    The result was that windows deactivated on the host but remained activated on the VM.

    It seems windows 10 does not allow simultaneous activations on host and VM using the same MSA.

    The only way I got back my activation on the host was by reinstalling windows.. I tried the activation troubleshooter hoping to switch back the activation to the host but it didn't work.
     
  14. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,444
    871
    120
    One thing I do not understand why would somebody sing in on a VM with MSA just saying. I have always used local accounts in my VM's it has no value to use MSA in an testing envirement in IMHO. But glad for you it worked out after all !
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. dasag

    dasag MDL Junior Member

    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    8
    0
    Yes you are right. I made a mistake. We live and learn.

    So.. are you saying that if I had used a local account to sign in on the VM it would have activated without affecting the activation on the host.?

    If that's the case I will try again.:D
     
  16. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,444
    871
    120
    Nope with a local account it wil not activate ! But why need the activation if I may ask ? it runs anyway so
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. dasag

    dasag MDL Junior Member

    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    8
    0
    Apart from the watermark and limited personalization there's not much difference between activated and not. So yeah.. good point.
     
  18. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,743
    1,684
    60
    Use a volume license copy of Windows while using KMS to activate, then use your digital license on the other, and you can safely sign into both ;) The volume license copy will never call out to Microsoft to activate and will keep to localhost for KMS. ;)
     
  19. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    12,433
    13,512
    340
    You can establish a hwid for the VM by just installing win 7 SP1 and activate it by DAZ loader (or use a bios.rom with a valid slic) and generate a genuineticket.xml, install 10 on the same VM and use the ticket to activate the VM install.