Activating with Retail key?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by madmike283, Oct 15, 2009.

1. madmike283

madmike283 MDL Novice

Oct 15, 2009
    #1 madmike283, Oct 15, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
    Hey guys, newbie here. I've been 7 for a while now. I ran the RC for a bit, then loaded up the Ultimate RTM when it was leaked. I used it for about 40 days on the trial before I came across a DL that included some keys. I used one of them successfully and the manual activation check that's described in the Repository comes up clean.

I just found this place and was reading about the OEM:SLP keys. Am I ok running this the way that I am, or are these keys at risk of being blacklisted down the road? Have I not gone about this the smartest way? Should I educate myself on how to change the key to an SLP one? I've attached a screenshot of the PIDX Check for your review. I'm also receiving a new ASUS laptop in a couple of days that I'm going to load up 7 x64 as soon as I get it. I'd like to activate it right away as well.

Sorry I'm not too smart on this stuff, but I wanted to ask my questions even if they don't quite make sense. Thanks guys!

2. Reign_Of_Freedom

Reign_Of_Freedom MDL Expert

Aug 1, 2009
    If those Retail keys have been leaked on the net then yeah it has a good chance of getting blacklisted.

If your new Asus laptop already has Win 7 then you should not have to worry about activ@tion. But if it has say Vista or Xp you can always go read up in the Win 7 repository link in my signature. And then you can head over to the Bios mod section and request to have a Bios modded for you, if that is what you want.

Bios mod is a much cleaner way IMO. But there are some people who prefer doing a soft mod(Lo@ders). Soft mods have a chance of getting deactivated, but i would not worry about that just yet.