Activation worked, back to trial after restart

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by SirLoseALot, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. SirLoseALot

    SirLoseALot MDL Novice

    Aug 27, 2009
    25
    0
    0
    Hey,

    I activated 7 using a loader, Windows showed it was activated. However, after restarting it, I was back to trial mode. What may have happened and how can I resolve this? My mainboard is a Biostar Gf7050 M7 V6.x. I'm a bit shy to flash my bios since I don't really want to possibly brick my board. I remember exactly the same thing happening back when I tried activating Windows Vista via a loader.
     
  2. RCOO

    RCOO MDL Senior Member

    Jan 15, 2009
    480
    8
    10
    Which loader are you using?
    Are you using a loader that really installs a key (emulating slic 2.1), or a loader that replaces some files with RC files, to do the activation?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. SirLoseALot

    SirLoseALot MDL Novice

    Aug 27, 2009
    25
    0
    0
    #3 SirLoseALot, Aug 27, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2009
    (OP)
    I have now tried all loaders that are linked from the Repository thread. W7ldr 1.0.1.9, Windows 7 loader 1.4, 7loader 1.5, 7Emulation v4. After the initial activation worked (before I rebooted), all the following loaders failed to activate Windows in the first place. I assume that at least some of them would try to emulate slic 2.1, right? I really don't know where to go from here, apart from flashing and praying.
     
  4. 69218

    69218 MDL Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    109
    31
    10
    Just mod bios and flash it to mobo.

    If something goes wrong, just find shop/service center with bios chip programmer. I fu## up my zotac 9300 itx twice :) and reflashed the onboard chip here locally (im from Poland) for ~20zł (6usd)
     
  5. RCOO

    RCOO MDL Senior Member

    Jan 15, 2009
    480
    8
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. ifeife2

    ifeife2 MDL Member

    Apr 25, 2008
    135
    3
    10
    SirNoseALot,

    It's not really possible to activate before restarting because the loader can't fake the ACPI SLIC yet.

    1) use slic dump toolkit to see if the loader is emulating slic.

    2) Then use opa tool to install an HP certificate.

    3) Then use the leaked ultimate OEM key.

    I'm guessing the first part will be your problem, error with a loader not working for you- and no SLIC emulation.
     
  7. SirLoseALot

    SirLoseALot MDL Novice

    Aug 27, 2009
    25
    0
    0
    Well, I had to restart after the loader had done it's thing. After that, Windows showed that it was activated. However, I then did another reboot, after which I was back to trial. I'm pretty sure that the loaders I tried actually emulate slic 2.1 - but maybe I'm missing something here. I assumed that after the loader had restarted my machine, I was basically done. Do I still have to install the certificate / key manually?
     
  8. jkh334

    jkh334 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    53
    0
    0
    Its simple-just dont restart then. My nose hurts when i hit it with a hammer so I just choose not to hit it with a hammer. ;)
     
  9. whitehat2009

    whitehat2009 MDL Member

    Aug 1, 2009
    162
    2
    10
    Since you seem to have a retail board, it's an ideal candidate for a BIOS mod. Big name companies such as ASUS, Gigabyte, Biostar, etc. tend to provide detailed instructions on how to flash the BIOS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. RCOO

    RCOO MDL Senior Member

    Jan 15, 2009
    480
    8
    10
    #11 RCOO, Aug 27, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2009
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. SirLoseALot

    SirLoseALot MDL Novice

    Aug 27, 2009
    25
    0
    0
    Another thing - when I tried to use VOATK tools, it needed UAC turned off to function. Should I possibly have done the same thing before using the loaders? I know that I sound like a huge newbie, rightfully so.
     
  12. RCOO

    RCOO MDL Senior Member

    Jan 15, 2009
    480
    8
    10
    #13 RCOO, Aug 28, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2009
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. SirLoseALot

    SirLoseALot MDL Novice

    Aug 27, 2009
    25
    0
    0
    Unfortunately, I don't have a floppy disk drive. Are there any real disatvantages to flashing via the windows tool? I did that before with a Bios provided by the manufacturer, which worked just fine.
     
  14. RCOO

    RCOO MDL Senior Member

    Jan 15, 2009
    480
    8
    10
    #16 RCOO, Aug 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. RCOO

    RCOO MDL Senior Member

    Jan 15, 2009
    480
    8
    10
    #17 RCOO, Aug 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Flashing through Windows is more risky. But, if you have done it before, you may do it again. I don't know how the tool works, though. Does it ask you where is the bios file to install?

    You can use the mod provided by
    asphix. It is tested! =) Even if you use it, the steps after the flashing are the same. (just choose the acer key instead of the dell one)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. SirLoseALot

    SirLoseALot MDL Novice

    Aug 27, 2009
    25
    0
    0
    #18 SirLoseALot, Aug 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Yep, I can chose a file to install. Of course I understand the benefits of using a tested Bios, however I am a bit confused right here. The file you provided contained the bios and the certificate, as far as I understand. Asphix's file contains a file that is just named like the original bios (which I assume is just the original, good), that Bios + _slic, which should be the modified Bios, as well as the certificate and keys (thanks Asphix!). As far as I understand, I'd flash with the _slic one, use the certificate within the archive followed by the matching key - correct? I also feel like I really shoud use your Bios, since you went through the trouble of creating it for me - but of course, you'd probably rightfully suggest I use the one that has already been proven to work.
     
  17. RCOO

    RCOO MDL Senior Member

    Jan 15, 2009
    480
    8
    10
    Exactly. The _slic is the modified bios. The folder named BIOS contains a setup, which is the installer for the Update tool in-windows. You already have it installed so just run it and select the file. And you use the certificate (install it) and apply the matching key.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. SirLoseALot

    SirLoseALot MDL Novice

    Aug 27, 2009
    25
    0
    0
    Alright! Using asphix's Bios, cert and key, I was able to activate, which still persists after a reboot. As far as I understand, that's better news than a loader working, anyways. Moreover, I can definitely confirm that this Bios mod is solid - there were no problems at all, even using the windows utility.

    Thanks *so* much for all your help, Ruixituh and asphix!