AMI BIOS: How Can I Be Sure I Moded It Correct? Should I Flash SSV, SSV3, or Dynamic?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by kwanbis, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
    #1 kwanbis, Jun 17, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  2. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Try the SSv2 or SSv3 first.
    I would NOT try the SSV or Dynamic unless the other two fail to properly add the SLIC 2.1 info to that BIOS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
    Thanks, I would try SSV3 then, as i was not able to mod it using SSV2.
     
  4. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
  5. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #5 NoJuan999, Jun 17, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
    Since it had SLIC 2.0 (which you didn't bother to mention) it should have defaulted to Dynamic Method to replace the SLIC 2.0 with 2.1.
    So try the Dynamic method.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
    Ah, sorry about that. Didn't knew it was important to mention.
     
  7. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
    OK, i just tried with the .bin you mention, and i still "see" the 2.0 slic.

    This is the AMITOOL151 Log, for what is worth:

    Any other idea? What i'm doing wrong?
     
  9. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    I don't have to check anything, you're the one modding this BIOS not me.
    I'm just offering some advice.

    Did you Flash from DOS with AFUDOS 4.x ???
    If you're flashing from within Windows the SLIC Info doesn't get properly updated most times on these HP PC's.

    You can also try the SSv3 but use the HPQOEM-CPC.Bin.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
    I know you are offering some advice. I never thought, or implied, otherwise. Or did i?

    No, i used AFUWIN 4.x

    I would try AFUDOS then, and SSv3 also, and report back.

    Would have to create a boot CD, as this machine does not includes a disk drive :S
     
  11. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #12 NoJuan999, Jun 17, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
    I just meant to say that it went back to 2.0 (weird), not anything else, and not to imply that you owed me anything. You know, probably misinterpretation related to language barriers ;)

    Anyway, i have AFUDOS, i would check that guide.

    Thanks again.
     
  13. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
    I just tried with AFUDOS. Still the same SLIC 2.0 :S.

    Should I try SSV3 then, or something else?
     
  14. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Definitely, try SSV3 with the CPC Slic.bin.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
  16. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    I can't see your screen shots, but just install the proper certificate and OEM SLP Key and see if Win 7 reads the SLIC 2.1 info and Activates.
    Otherwise you will have to do A LOT of reading and do a manual mod using MMTool and a Hex editor.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. kwanbis

    kwanbis MDL Junior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    87
    8
    0
    #18 kwanbis, Jun 18, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2010
    (OP)
    I just fixed the images. I would try what you tell me to.

    Now, how should i go to install the certicicate and oem spl key?

    Is there a tool, or a manual process?

    (meanwhile i'm searching the forum)
     
  18. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,173
    10,932
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Read Section 6F here:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/7126-The-Official-Windows-7-Repository
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...