Android 5.1.1... too old?

Discussion in 'Android' started by Coastal Jay, Jun 8, 2019.

1. Coastal Jay

Coastal Jay MDL Novice

Aug 15, 2018
    Hi all, I'm new to Android devices and I'm considering purchasing a Samsung Tab A 7 inch purely for video playback. I just have a couple of questions. The tablet is running Lollipop 5.1.1, which I know is old, but is it too old? Will most apps in the play store work ok on it? Are there other issues I need to be aware of buying a new device running such an old OS? Any tips greatly appreciated :)

2. grrgrr

grrgrr MDL Member

Oct 4, 2017
    I don't see an issue of you solely want to use it for video playback, as VLC and other apps should support Lollipop 5.1.1.
    Do check the apps you plan to use if they support Lollipop 5.1.1

3. Coastal Jay

Coastal Jay MDL Novice

Aug 15, 2018
    Thanks for the feedback, appreciate it! :)

4. toyo

toyo MDL Senior Member

Aug 14, 2009
    I wouldn't bother with it. You might run into issues within 1-2 years if the apps you want to use decide to drop support for such an old OS version. I got my first ugly surprise with the Phone app from Microsoft which required minimum Android 7 for all features to work, and I had 6 on my phone. It was not essential, but it still pissed me enough to buy a new phone with 9/Pie which is way faster, so I'm glad I invested in it.
    I guess you could swap to other apps that still support old OS versions if it happens.

5. Catop

Catop MDL Novice

Jun 26, 2019
    No!

6. ThomasMann

ThomasMann MDL Expert

Dec 31, 2015
    If you really only want to use it for video, you will NEVER have a problem, as it is your choice to update the vlc player or not.

Also... are you sure this will not update the android version? I bought a Tab A but the 10 inch version, also old butnow running automatically on 8.1.