Any tool to check which program is not letting windows hibernate?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by dudedroid, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. dudedroid

    dudedroid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 28, 2011
    91
    7
    0
    I am facing peculiar problem.
    If my laptop is connect to power source and then I hibernate the laptop. It wont hibernate completely till it drains all the power out of the battery and on the other hand when the laptop is hibernated when on battery this issue is not observed.

    So I am looking for help by which i can nail the problem and then solve it.

    Regards
     
  2. odiebugs1

    odiebugs1 MDL Expert

    Jul 30, 2015
    1,390
    453
    60
    #2 odiebugs1, Aug 20, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2015
    Have you turned off the laptop for 24hrs with a full charge and seen what the charge is when turning back on. Have you made sure you have no BIOS/UEFI updates ?.

    Hibernation will use some power, it's not like OFF and if you have any wake setting in BIOS/UEFI, it will use power.

    I read your post to quickly. So in hibernate the system is not taking a charge, it's impossible to drain bat with ac and a max of 7w usage.

    Try a hard reset.

    Go to devise MGR, Under the Batteries section right click on the “Microsoft APCI-Compliant Control Method Battery” and select “Uninstall” , Shutdown your computer and remove AC, Remove the battery for 1 hour, press and hold power button for 30 sec, Reinstall the battery, Turn on your computer with your AC adapter, Windows should automatically recognize the “new” battery hardware and reinstall the driver for you, if not run windows update.

    Problem still there, I would contact MFG. Unless it's not a 8 or 9 series chip, then it doesn't support 10.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. coromonadalix

    coromonadalix MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    410
    82
    10
    Check your power options, and wake on lan setups ???
     
  4. Fckr

    Fckr MDL Member

    Feb 4, 2011
    179
    78
    10
    Check whether or not your current graphics driver is supported by Windows 10.
     
  5. dudedroid

    dudedroid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 28, 2011
    91
    7
    0
    There is no BIOS/UEFI update that is pending. Have installed the lastest drivers from dell for the graphics. I do not use LAN with the laptop. When on battery this problem do not occur.
     
  6. odiebugs1

    odiebugs1 MDL Expert

    Jul 30, 2015
    1,390
    453
    60

    Sounds like a short or bad AC which is allowing a power drain with AC, but that's just weird that it doesn't happen all the time and only when Hib.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Johnny Five

    Johnny Five MDL Novice

    Oct 25, 2012
    26
    114
    0
    #7 Johnny Five, Aug 20, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    It's easy. Just open the Command Prompt as Administrator and type:
    Code:
    powercfg -AVAILABLESLEEPSTATES
    Excerpt from the powercfg help:
    Code:
    -AVAILABLESLEEPSTATES, -A
                 Reports the sleep states available on the system
                 Attempts to report reasons why sleep states are unavailable.
     
  8. dudedroid

    dudedroid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 28, 2011
    91
    7
    0
    #9 dudedroid, Aug 20, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  9. Fckr

    Fckr MDL Member

    Feb 4, 2011
    179
    78
    10
    #10 Fckr, Aug 20, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    So, do you have Intel HD as GPU, too?
     
  10. dudedroid

    dudedroid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 28, 2011
    91
    7
    0
    #11 dudedroid, Aug 20, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Yes I have i3-4005U with Intel HD 4400
    Drivers that were mentioned didnt install :(
     
  11. Fckr

    Fckr MDL Member

    Feb 4, 2011
    179
    78
    10
    Hmm...:(
    You are on 64bit OS, right?
     
  12. dudedroid

    dudedroid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 28, 2011
    91
    7
    0
    Yes on 64bit OS because using 8GB ram
     
  13. Fckr

    Fckr MDL Member

    Feb 4, 2011
    179
    78
    10
    In devmgmt.msc->Display Adapters->Intel HD 4xxx->Properties, what's the driver date/driver version?
     
  14. dudedroid

    dudedroid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 28, 2011
    91
    7
    0
    Driver Date is 06/16/2015
    Driver Version 10.18.15.4240
     
  15. leomate

    leomate MDL Junior Member

    Jun 19, 2009
    52
    7
    0
    Try to manual install using device manager, it works in mine
     
  16. dudedroid

    dudedroid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 28, 2011
    91
    7
    0
    tried manual install of drivers as well. But it tells me already best drivers are present.
     
  17. Fckr

    Fckr MDL Member

    Feb 4, 2011
    179
    78
    10
  18. dudedroid

    dudedroid MDL Junior Member

    Apr 28, 2011
    91
    7
    0
    I have installed the driver successfully using the have disk in device manager.
     
  19. Fckr

    Fckr MDL Member

    Feb 4, 2011
    179
    78
    10