Any way to preserve preinstalled apps during custom upgrade?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Urzack, Jun 29, 2010.

1. Urzack

Urzack MDL Novice

Jun 28, 2010
    First: I'm a newbie here, and I tried some searches but couldn't find an answer, so please bear with me.

HP m9715f: came with Vista Home Premium. For various reasons, I missed the deadline for free Win7 upgrade. I recently bought a hopefully legit Win 7 Professional Upgrade edition. Since you have to do a custom install for that, upgrading wiped out other preloaded software that came with the machine. Most of it is crud, but some of it would be worth getting back.

Is there a way to preserve those apps? HP (whose support almost gave me a nervous breakdown last year) says no, and nyaah nyaah that's what I get for using a non-HP retail upgrade. If I had upgraded first to Vista Business or to Win 7 Home Premium and then upgraded from there to Win 7 Prof., this stuff presumably would still be accessible.

Any way around this?

2. JaguarXJ12

JaguarXJ12 Guest

The only way I see it is that your best bet is to try and locate those apps for download through HPs site if possible, and if that's not possible then try to find alternatives for those apps which do the same.

3. Urzack

Urzack MDL Novice

Jun 28, 2010
    Let me add that I've barely used this machine, i.e., it was no big deal that I just did a factory state restore after messing something up while tinkering above my level. So it's back to Vista H. Prem. It seems like I *ought* to be able to do an in-place upgrade to something intermediate (like Win 7 H. Premium) and then do an in-place upgrade to Win 7 Prof. It would be nice if HP's original key and the presumably legit W7 Prof key would make the whole thing legit, but I fear the "middle", transitional key would mess it up (assuming I can find a copy of W7 H.Prem to temporarily install). Is it possible to upgrade without having activated the thing you're upgrading from?

4. JaguarXJ12