Assembly Programming

Discussion in 'Mixed Languages' started by splinter_, Apr 5, 2014.

1. splinter_

splinter_ MDL Novice

Dec 17, 2012
    Hello mdl ppl, Can you suggest me where to start assembly programming ? I have experience with "normal" programming languages(c#,c++ and delphi) if that helps at all ? Thank you :)

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Pr3acher

Pr3acher MDL Member

Aug 24, 2012
    Hi, well yeah C++ can help, C more. Most important is to know about pointers, memory management, PE/ELF format and segmentation. You could try nasm and it's doc http://www.nasm.us/doc/nasmdoc0.html .

3. Myrrh

Myrrh MDL Expert

Nov 26, 2008
    #4 Myrrh, Apr 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    My third language (self-taught) was Z80 Assembler. First was Basic interpreter then Z80 machine language.

Yes, I learned what
    Code:
    4300: C3 00 43
    did, long before I learned what it was called:
    Code:
    START EQU 4300H
    JP START
    END START
    *both of these represent an endless loop, far better than a plain old "hello world" program :)

Helpful references included the technical reference for the processor which explained the various flags, registers and opcodes; and the source code for "Super Utility Plus" which was a popular utility program of the day.

Of course, you are interested in Intel x86 or similar assembly language which is completely different from Zilog, but similarly-themed references should be available, and the basic concepts of memory, registers, flags, opcodes are still there.

When you have dreams in machine code and wake up and they actually made sense, you have been working on it too hard.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Threat

Threat Lord of the Files

Feb 23, 2014