ASUS nb - SLIC hidden?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by anmg, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    #1 anmg, Aug 21, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2009
    ASUS nb - SLIC 2.1 hidden?

    I've checked ASUS K50IN notebook with latest firmware 213.
    This model share same bios with K40IN, and both models are eligible in a Windows 7 upgrade program.

    SLIC_Dump 2.0 can not get SLIC info - failed, RW_everything do not show SLIC section - missing.
    It is very interesting because when I opened 1b module in HEX I found 2 RSA1 keys.
    The 1st one is same as in ASUS 2.0 SLIC, The second one I think is from ASUS 2.1 slic for windows 7 activation.

    Here is place where _ASUS_Notebook_ should be, but it is missing, and this fact do not prevent to activate Vista.
    Here is 2 RSA keys from K50IN
    Starting from 6F 92 9D DC B3 - is for Vista (you can compare it with asus slic 2.0), and from 83 A4 C2 5B 5A 18 - for W7
    The main question remains: How to get this 2.1 slic if no Utility can show it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,933
    300
    #2 NoJuan999, Aug 21, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    #3 anmg, Aug 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Thanks! I have already confirmed mod with HP slic in my collection (link in signature). I can even modify it myself.

    I do not want mod bios. I want to unlock SLP and SLIC in original BIOS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,725
    3,091
    300
    #4 urie, Aug 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    I would wait and see if asus do a bios update before windows 7 release as for slp1 for xp look here.
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/6351
     
  5. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    Question closed for me now.

    this notebook contains 2 slics: 2.0 and 2.1 but it is hidden for current utilities and not hidden for windows itself.
    I'll wait for asus cetrtificate 2.1
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. GurliGebis

    GurliGebis MDL Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    105
    142
    10
    So it contains an ASUS 2.1 SLIC table, that is just hidden?
    It would be nice to get it extracted, since we are missing an ASUS slic for Windows 7 :)
     
  7. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    No current utilities can see it
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. GurliGebis

    GurliGebis MDL Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    105
    142
    10
    I'm not sure about if something will prevent it (encryption/compression), but would it be possible to search for "SLIC" using a hex editor, and that way extract the SLIC table?
     
  9. Mustang Sally

    Mustang Sally MDL Junior Member

    May 9, 2007
    79
    0
    0
    #9 Mustang Sally, Aug 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    see post 885

    Code:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/4071?page=89
    I don't think there is a hidden slic to enable, i think the n/b that qualify for win 7 update will get COA activation and will recieve an upgrade to win 7 with phone or online activation
     
  10. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    #10 str8, Aug 22, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2009
    Well apparently the bios contains two different public keys - one from slic 2.0 and another one from probably 2.1. What would be the purpose of that?
     
  11. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    I know only one reason - installing preactivated offline windows. Asus sells too much computers to get a separate key for each one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    No doubt. My post was a reply to Mustang Sally's saying "I don't think there is a hidden slic to enable".
     
  13. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    Sure :) The only problem how to separate them?
    RW-Everything - can not see SLIC (no SLIC tab)
    SLIC_Dump_ToolKit_V2.0 - slic failed
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. GurliGebis

    GurliGebis MDL Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    105
    142
    10
    I tried opening the bios file with winhex and searched for the ASCII word "SLIC", and got no result.

    How can they have done this?
     
  15. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    #15 anmg, Aug 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    I do not know HOW. I know it is there.
    look here http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/119351
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Mustang Sally

    Mustang Sally MDL Junior Member

    May 9, 2007
    79
    0
    0
    I think it would be easier for Asus to come up with 2 certs than 2 slic's. All the manufacturers like Dell only have one slic and it's backward compatible with vista too. just my opinion.
     
  18. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    Yes, it's your opinion.
    There are 2 SLICs. Unfortunately I do not have such notebook in my hands.
    otherwise I would make such thing as I described above.

    If will not do this, we have to wait models designed especially for W7 to get asus slic 2.1.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. frwil

    frwil MDL Addicted

    Sep 22, 2008
    520
    161
    30
    #19 frwil, Aug 25, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
    @anmg
    I'm quite puzzled. On the first page you say you have notebook and the question is closed for you because you found out that it contains two SLICs. Now you say you don't have such notebook?..
    Also, from this topic and from one another, are you saying that you do have Windows Vista activated off-line with OEM:SLP key on a notebook, in which neither of known tools (Everest, RW-everything, ACPIscope,OEMdumper) can't see or dump SLIC table?
     
  20. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    304
    10
    It was in my hand during 1 hour.

    Yes. But I tried only RW-everything & SLIC_Dump_ToolKit_V2.0
    You can check the same on any model from ASUS W7 upgrade program
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...