Asus P5Q SE Plus Motherboard

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by Robbiel, May 9, 2011.

1. Robbiel

Robbiel MDL Novice

May 9, 2011
    Hi all, Im new here and have a been a lurker for a while so decided to join up. I have bought an Asus P5Q SE Plus motherboard secondhand including an Intel core 2 duo E6600 2.4Ghz CPU and 2GB ram. My question is can I just plug this into a new case and start to assemble my new build or is there anything I need to do to eg. reset the BIOS, or anything like that. Its my first build so just looking for some help on it.
    Thanks
    Rob

2. Tito

Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

Nov 30, 2009
    I think.... just pluging is the best option, while changing the CMOS battery & buying a new one is very good idea!!! Thus ur CMOS will be reset automatically.. :) but remember, check the presence of any bios password before!!

3. Robbiel

Robbiel MDL Novice

May 9, 2011
    Thanks for the quick reply, I have a new battery ready to be put in to it. So basically it just remove the battery and that will "reset" the board? If there is a password on the BIOS how do I remove it?

4. Tito

Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

Nov 30, 2009
    Check first if any.... start the pc with the old battery and go to bios setup!!

5. Robbiel

Robbiel MDL Novice

May 9, 2011
    Ok I booted up just now and there is nothing on the screen, the graphics card is correctly inserted but the screen is black and cannot get into the bios.....pressing the Delete key does nothing. The CPU fan is running yet Im not getting any warning beeps.

6. Tito

Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

Nov 30, 2009
    Well... remove the graphics card and switch to the default onboard one...

7. Robbiel

Robbiel MDL Novice

May 9, 2011
    there is no default onboard one on the MB

8. Yen

Yen Admin
    Staff Member

May 6, 2007
    What are you talking about? There is no internal GPU! Also the password will be reset after CMOS reset.