ATI HD 6670 + Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by win7, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. win7

    win7 MDL Senior Member

    Dec 21, 2008
    254
    1
    10
    Does anybody have this GFX card? Is it working ok on Windows 8???
     
  2. bousaid

    bousaid MDL Novice

    Nov 8, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    ATI Cards + Windows 8 = Many problems :mad:
     
  3. S_A_S

    S_A_S MDL Member

    Oct 16, 2012
    236
    103
    10
    No problems here with AMD (ATI) (PC : ATI HD 6870 & Laptop : ATI mobility Radeon HD 5400)
     
  4. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,288
    1,176
    90
    Drivers are available for Windows 8, if you'r afraid create a restore point before installation.
    Then you'll be fixed. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. hbhb

    hbhb MDL Expert

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,017
    263
    60
    HD 6370 working just fine with 12.10 AMD Catalyst
     
  6. win7

    win7 MDL Senior Member

    Dec 21, 2008
    254
    1
    10
    It will be a fresh install on a brand new machine (plus that card). I will just take the plunge, if all fails I will put 7 on it. Was just getting a heads up so I don't waste my time installing 8 to find out there are issues.

    Thanks for the replies people.
     
  7. hbhb

    hbhb MDL Expert

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,017
    263
    60
    you ll be fine dude

     
  8. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,730
    6,667
    270
    Adapter DescriptionAMD Radeon HD 7640G (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM v1.20)
    running out of the box with fresh win8 install, didn't add drivers for it. Working perfectly
     
  9. Tinman948

    Tinman948 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 7, 2010
    58
    1
    0
    I haven't installed the whole Cadalyst package, just let windows 8 install whatever driver and it runs fine.
    I got a Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 6670.
     
  10. jupier2k

    jupier2k MDL Member

    Jan 20, 2009
    168
    5
    10
    HD 7700 fine with 12.10 AMD Catalyst, but I have to install it twice to get CCC working.
     
  11. Tahunasky

    Tahunasky MDL Junior Member

    Jul 19, 2009
    57
    4
    0
    I had problems with the Radeon HD 6470 and 7400 MS version of the drivers.. they worked fine out of the box with windows and office 2010, but when i installed photoshop CS6, it complained there was a problem with the drivers. So i downloaded the W7 drivers from HP and it fixed the problem with photoshop. This is on W8 x64, and HP elitebook laptops.
     
  12. Mitolo

    Mitolo MDL Novice

    May 3, 2008
    21
    3
    0
    6970 all good ;)
     
  13. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
    No issues with a pair of 6990's in crossfire either ;) HOWEVER,you might want to avoid the Catalyst chipset drivers,because they nuked 3 of my systems
     
  14. win7

    win7 MDL Senior Member

    Dec 21, 2008
    254
    1
    10
    Ideal.... :)