Ati support for Windows 8 for HD series under the 5000

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Viggen66, Feb 8, 2013.

  1. Viggen66

    Viggen66 MDL Senior Member

    May 24, 2011
    271
    92
    10
    Dear Users,

    Does any of you have a quick solution for ATI support for chips under the HD 5000 series, it seems they have released two drivers builds, that it supposedly compatible for Windows 8, that is far from the truth, yes it's true we can play games and play 3d applications on the same frame rate that it used to run on a Windows 7 machine, but if you look closely you will see that metro apps namely camera, and all the apps that need video streaming simply don't work, hence making these drivers incompatible with the new OS from Microsoft.

    Of course, you can say, just upgrade your video card and the problem is gone, well is true and is not true, for my tower home pc, which as an ATI 4850, I can do that, but for my notebook, which has an embedded ATI 3650 Mobile, the problem remains, and according to ATI's official website, they will stick with the drivers released for Windows 7, and add a new note telling that after all it's compatible with Windows 8, which in fact, is not, I still have games which worked fine on Windows 7, and on Windows 8 don't work because of the driver support, and as I previously said, all metro apps, that require streaming, they just refuse to work.
     
  2. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
  3. Viggen66

    Viggen66 MDL Senior Member

    May 24, 2011
    271
    92
    10
    It worked for me, excellent solution, thank you for your support, just a remark on the AMD forums, the user who said that it had to put it on compatibility mode for Windows 7, is not necessary just install manually the driver through the update driver on device manager, and look for the drivers on the AMD folder created by the package, don't need to install all the garbage that ATI install all along with the driver, thanks
     
  4. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
    Thanks for acting as a guinea pig of sorts for that solution :) After seeing it worked for you,I'm going to implement it on my HD4870x2-powered HTPC :)
     
  5. Viggen66

    Viggen66 MDL Senior Member

    May 24, 2011
    271
    92
    10
    The latest drivers are rubbish, they are the same as 12.6 as the previous user said before, with only a very slight difference, the best drivers are 12.2, all metro apps work and streaming is functioning as it should, and if you think about it there isn't any more juice to squeeze from old chips, so new drivers will probably not improve performance at all, so stick with 12.2 and you have finally a real Windows 8 Experience, and install the drivers as I do, clean raw, manually, with no catalyst crap and useless apps that will only introduce more services to run on a windows session and slow down everything.
     
  6. jdavid

    jdavid MDL Novice

    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    3
    0
    Thanks for starting this thread. The problem with ATI drivers was driving me nuts. I installed 12_2 AGP Hotfix for my HD 3450 AGP and it works perfectly. :biggrin:
     
  7. Viggen66

    Viggen66 MDL Senior Member

    May 24, 2011
    271
    92
    10
    yes jdavid, one of the reasons I wasn't running Windows 8 was because of this, I though what was the reason why the camera app wasn't working, and at the same I find it weird that on a fresh installation of win 8 the apps worked, and suddenly not, just a wild guest that it had to do will the video driver firstly I thought that it was because of codecs conflicts but it wasn't , and started this thread to see if I was right, and I was, for all the users that have still a very good card, albeit old when compared with new generations, they can finally make full advantage of win 8 :biggrin:
     
  8. retest

    retest MDL Junior Member

    Nov 2, 2010
    75
    21
    0
    on W8, what's the best way to deal with "the best driver software for this device is already installed" ?
    i uninstalled the legacy driver provided by ati. W8 automatically installs the W8 WDM driver. if i point the display adapter in device manager to the 12.2 extracted driver that's the message i get.
     
  9. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
    #13 bk109, Feb 11, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
    What GPU are you talking about - both model and type (ie switchable graphics) ?
     
  10. Viggen66

    Viggen66 MDL Senior Member

    May 24, 2011
    271
    92
    10
    Of course Windows 8 brings drivers for chips under the 5000 generation, but you can't use directx apps, opengl, games, and you have an overall decrease of performance on embedded drivers brought by Windows 8, so it's better to install these drivers (12.2), which it accelerates your apps, you can play games, and run metro apps with no problems
     
  11. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
    #15 bk109, Feb 12, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013
    I'm pretty sure retest's problem is that when he points Windows to the driver from the 12.2 catalyst package,windows doesn't recognize nor install it. I asked him about the particular model and type of card,because some less common configurations (like switchable graphics) do have their own software package and refuse to play nice with the basic catalyst driver ;)

    @retest - by the way,did you point to C:\AMD\Support\12-2_mobility_vista_win7_64_dd_ccc\Packages\Drivers\Display\W76A_INF\CH134396.inf or just to part of C:\AMD\Support\12-2_mobility_vista_win7_64_dd_ccc ?
     
  12. retest

    retest MDL Junior Member

    Nov 2, 2010
    75
    21
    0
    sapphire radeon hd 4350.
    pointed to 12-2_vista_win7_32_dd_ccc\Packages\Drivers.
     
  13. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
    Ah,there's the culprit then (hopefully) - you need to select the .inf file itself to get them to load - instead of selecting "search for driver in that location" in the update driver window,you need to select the 'Let me pick <blah-blah>',have disk and go all the way to Packages\Drivers\D isplay\W76A_INF\CH134396.inf ;)
     
  14. retest

    retest MDL Junior Member

    Nov 2, 2010
    75
    21
    0
    \Support\12-2_vista_win7_32_dd_ccc\Packages\Drivers\Display\W7_INF\CL134393.inf
    or
    \Support\12-2_vista_win7_32_dd_ccc\Packages\Drivers\Display\W7_INF\CW134393.inf ?

    there's no W76A_INF or CH134396.inf .
     
  15. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
    Sorry about that,I assumed the inf-file names would be the same as the ones in the mobile drivers package :) As for the inf itself,frankly - I'm yet to see a real difference between either choice(I can be horribly wrong of course,but I'm yet to stumble upon a problem) - so pick one and if everything is OK - the screen will flash or win will request a restart to finish installing the card .. If not - it'll just say that it didn't install so you try the other one instead :)