Backup Activation of Windows 8 Pro Upgrade after activating WMC Edition

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by nexus76, Feb 23, 2013.

  1. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    Hello,

    I tried the guide for activation backup but on reinstall the WMC is missing, so the
    restore of the activation status fails. Even it seems impossible to integrate the Media Center
    into the upgrade due to the encrypted install.esd file.
    A fresh install via retail iso also failed with the "core" message (wrong version?) giving a slui code afterwards.
    Did anyone manage to keep the activation intact using the Windows 8 Pro Upgrade?

    regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,369
    642
    60
    #2 NICK@NUMBER11, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    all you need to do is to enable wmc within your install.wim

    Code:
    DISM /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\WMC\install.wim /index:1 /MountDir:C:\WMC\mount
    Dism /Image:C:\wmc\mount /Get-TargetEditions
    Dism /Image:C:\wmc\mount /Set-Edition:ProfessionalWMC
    Dism /unmount-wim /mountdir:C:\wmc\mount /commit
    
    Then you rbackup with work!
     
  3. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
    Instead of integrating the WMC yourself,you can look for the delta patch to get a Pro+WMC install here (if for some reason the links are down,give me a shout and I'll reupload it somewhere),install using one of the Media Center pack serials and then try to restore your activation from the backup you made.. hopefully,that would do the trick for ya :)
     
  4. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,369
    642
    60
    #5 NICK@NUMBER11, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    links are down!
    Code:
    Reason: Download links removed due to DMCA notice. Please do not re-add the links.
     
  5. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #6 nexus76, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Thanks, I did so - exacly - but the Upgrade includes no install.wim, instead of it there's an install.esd (encryped system diskimage).
    Patching retail iso the method you described also failed for me, isn't the upgrade a core image??
    Do I need a special ei.cfg in the sources folder to set the correct windows edition?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,369
    642
    60
    ok, sorry i missed that you only had core. so can you not just add wmc feature using your free key now?

     
  7. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #8 nexus76, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013
    (OP)
    I'm not sure what causes the problems with the /Set-Edition:professionalWMC patched retail iso activating the WMC Edition of the Upgrade again.
    It simply does not activate. Looks like there must be other differences between the upgrade ISO and the retail iso.
    Why this encrypted INSTALL.ESD? :mad:
    It won't be possible to integrate / slipstream all the latest updates or drivers, shame on you Microsoft! Fail 100%.
    I'd suggest no IT-professional would ever buy this product for company usage.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
    #9 bk109, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I was referring to the reuploads that users kept doing in the later pages of the thread :) The good news is that the latest Link Removed appears still to be up(the 2 download links are in ^ together with the instructions).
    Edit: Don't forget to decline the 'crapware' offers the downloader app for the file is trying to push on ya ;)
     
  9. bk109

    bk109 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 12, 2012
    269
    136
    10
    Or x64.. Given how trivially easy it is to find it via google/bing/etc and download it using his favorite torrent client,that's hardly a problem,don't you agree?

    Edit: Lol,in fact the first result for the x64 version is a .torrent file,so even easier than expected ;)
     
  10. BTOR

    BTOR MDL Addicted

    Nov 18, 2009
    575
    584
    30
    yes, but this is what we get for buying a MS product. i don't see the point in this whole install.esd thing, what do they actually achieve by giving this much trouble to customers who have paid them for using their product?
     
  11. nexus76

    nexus76 MDL Addicted

    Jan 25, 2009
    788
    296
    30
    #14 nexus76, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...