Bad electricity and UPS ..

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by Fly3, Mar 10, 2018.

1. Fly3

Fly3 MDL Junior Member

Oct 7, 2017
    #1 Fly3, Mar 10, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018
    Hello friends
    I live in a third world country so electricity here is really sucks so sometimes I see the room lamp turned off then on again for just a second or less than a second and it happened before 3 times continuously i mean its just a 4 or 5 seconds between every power cut but my PC was still running without restarting or shut down.(HP compaq desktop)
    my question about UPS is can It operate in high temperature like 45 Celsius in summer for 10 hours without break ? and if so does it really serve in my condition ?
    and if I can't buy it now and using my PC without a UPS could this damage my PC ? and I wonder if my PC has been already damaged because of bad power as i mentioned above ?

Sorry if i'm not good at English, Have a good day.

2. dhjohns

dhjohns MDL Guru

Sep 5, 2013
    I would get a UPS as soon as you can.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tonto11

tonto11 MDL Addicted

Jun 18, 2012
    #4 tonto11, Mar 11, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2018
    I too have lived where the quality of electricity supply was not great
    and worked for years as an electric utility engineer to make it better
    particularly near industrial plants
    Room lamps quickly turning off and on is called flicker, and is usually caused by a large electric motor starting nearby
    if you have a TV, the picture will collapse when the sweep oscillators stop, then the ladies all complain :eek:

Your PC will not be affected by this because the filter capacitors will smooth out these dips
    Longer term interruptions might lead to the computer stopping and rebooting after power returns. This is also not damaging, but it sure is annoying as you are trying to work