Beginner trying to use Windows Server 2012 R2 - I don't get what is going on!

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by AK 47, Dec 19, 2013.

1. AK 47

AK 47 MDL Novice

Dec 10, 2013
    Hi all,

First of all let me preface this post by saying that I am a beginner when it comes to networking and such. I am trying to learn via trial and error - and a lot of Googling and posting on various forums! It is clear to me that my knowledge is far behind that of most of the other users of this forum, as I don't understand a lot of what is talked about here!

So please bear with me if I do not immediately understand your responses to my question.

Let me get to me reason for posting:

I have an HP ProLiant MicroServer N40L, which I use as a media server. I use it to download movies and TV shows, and stream them to XBMC on a nettop PC running Windows 8 Pro (soon to be updated to Windows 8.1 Pro), which is connected to my TV via HDMI. I also use it to download music, and access the music files via iTunes on a client PC (my Windows 8.1 laptop) in order to update my iPhone, etc.

The N40L was previously running Windows Home Server 2011, which worked fine.

For whatever reason, I had to reinstall Windows on the N40L. But then I thought, what's the point reinstalling a 2011 product, when I could just install Windows Server 2012 R2 on it? So I clean-installed Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard with Essentials Experience on the N40L.

Prior to making the decision to do so, I had read that Windows Server is domain-only. OK, so I had no idea what that meant, but just thought I could figure it out on the fly.

This is proving more difficult than anticipated.