Best anti-virus anti-malware security software for Linux and privacy?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by roga, Sep 9, 2015.

1. roga

roga MDL Member

Aug 12, 2015
    Linux needs antivirus and antimalware. Search online shows many results of linux malware and linux server hacking. Yes Linux is more secure than Windows because of the way root access is set up. But Linux can still be messed up without root access. Keyloggers for Linux do exist.

Which antivirus and antimalware software is best for Linux? It needs to have real time protection. And how to be sure the security software does not contain spyware in itself? Security software scans all your files, can it phone the files home? I moved away from Windows to Linux to escape Windows spying, I do not want to install security software on Linux that take away my privacy.

Some people could recommend HIPS for Linux but I fear this is too complicated for me to understand, I am a Linux noob and prefer not to spend days learning about HIPS for Linux.

2. Joe C

Joe C MDL Guru

Jan 12, 2012
    *nix gets patched 10x faster than windows ever will. Just keep your *nix distro up to date with security patches and you'll be good

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. roga

roga MDL Member

Aug 12, 2015
    What if someone sneaks a keylogger on my computer through infected usb or motherboard firmware, security patches won't pick up a customized keylogger like that. Only security software can.

4. Joe C

Joe C MDL Guru

Jan 12, 2012
    That can only happen if you allow that program root access.
    Think of it as administrator mode in windows (default) which is one reason why windows is so insecure

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. netlords

netlords MDL Novice

Jun 20, 2012
    have you ever experienced such an attac?

imho some of this scenarios are possible, but not soo realistic