BIOS Flash for older PC's - Is it possible - is there any point ?

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by tnx, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,618
    232
    60
    Hi all.

    My mate asked me to look at his PC, bit old he said and its not working.
    Wow I nearly pissed my self laughing.

    Old !!! no its older than that.

    The sticker on the tower has a Windows 95 code on it.....:eek:

    This might sound a bit premature ,well i aint even switched the thing on.
    I have been onto the Asus support site and found the drivers for it, well hopefully anyhow.
    Also i got the latest BIOS for it. Well when i say latest it was actually 2002.

    God i cant stop laughing. sorry.

    Any way i find myself wanting to ask if it might be possible to flash such an old BIOS and put on SLP (SLIC 1 ) info on so i can put a good working copy of XP on the thing.
    Try anyhow.

    So if any clever BIOS fashers fancy a go, i would put up the BIOS file to download for altering.

    In the mean time i will see if i can indeed get XP to run. If not the drivers do mention Win 2K and Win ME so i might take my chances with them.

    Another silly question. When Win ME was around did they have to have SLIC,OEM info ? or was the disc and code enough ? These i have...

    Any way time to play...

    Any offers for BIOS flashing ? just for a laugh...

    cheers...
     
  2. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    Put a link to the bios and some info on the board..

    Win XP was the first with a SLP system..WIndows ME/ 2000 and earlier used a serial and that is it..no WGA. If you have a Win 98/ME/2000 disk with a serial, you are set...

    If you are not using the XP, dont bother with the bios, otherwise, upload it with the necessary info..

    These older machines make good file servers (Home) and are quite efficient with Linux..You just have to know how to set them up..no humor in that...:cool::cool:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,618
    232
    60
    Thanks for that...

    Will put the BIOS up to download.

    But before i can do owt i came across summet i have not seen before.

    It is running Windows 2000. nice. Password protected. no problem a new OS is going on.

    I went to check out the BIOS info and it has a password set to it. Never seen one before and i could not do owt with it.

    So i have removed the battery,set the jumpers to clear CMOS. Gunna leave that over night to drain the memory ( read that somwhere ) to see if i can get into it.

    cheers for the info.

    I would be proclaimed KING of all things PC if i could return the PC up and running ( well in my mates eyes any way ):D

    check this thread for BIOS download...later...
     
  4. skylark

    skylark MDL Junior Member

    Sep 3, 2009
    57
    10
    0
    AndyP's award tool appears to have no difficulty working with this BIOS. However as it is only for XP and/or WHS, why not burn a copy of "DMI Boot CD for Award-AMI-Intel BIOS" and add the SLP 1.0? That way you can avoid taking the risk of flashing a modified BIOS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,618
    232
    60
    DMI Boot CD...

    Not heard of this. Will check it out...

    Thanks for the info...
     
  6. skylark

    skylark MDL Junior Member

    Sep 3, 2009
    57
    10
    0
    Look at the stickies and you will see it. Have fun. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    #8 911medic, Dec 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    here..http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/6351

    If you use the award tool just use the SSv3 or 0+2 mod to add the SLp string..the important part is the resizing of the mainbios...

    I think the dmi disc will work for you. Use the option 4 to add yuor own strings..then at prompt type dmicfg..it should allow you to change all the strings..

    EDIT: Links updated in the dmi tattoo post..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,618
    232
    60
    #9 tnx, Dec 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Yes cheers for that info..

    I now have the dmi cd. been reading that sticky on it.

    Cheers..

    Well i slung the CMOS battery back in and put the jumpers to the proper position and hey presto the BIOS password had gone. Which was nice.
    So i was able to sling in the XP disc and boot from CD.

    First i am trying to see if indeed the PC will run XP.
    So far so good.
    I put in a spare IDE HDD and XP is loading nicely.
    After XP is up and running and i feel happy it is good i will look at this here DMI cd and see if i can infact add the slp1 info to the BIOS.

    :)
     
  9. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    You could actually check it without the XP installed. Just boot to the cd again and use option to view SLP info..after the install is fine also..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,618
    232
    60
    #11 tnx, Dec 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Did a search on the forums and found this.

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/18019?highlight=asus+cuv4x#post18019


    Somebody as already done a BIOS flash for this board...
    I have downloaded it.
    Just waiting to see how XP runs.
    Very slow at installing.
    But hey i am used to a much faster PC.

    Will try finding out if indeed there is any SLP info on the board already.This would be nice.

    Either way making an Asus OEM disc wont be hard.

    Just thinking though. I know this will lead me into doing his other PC,a more modern one which he uses and as only just got the tinternet this weekend.
    Just waiting till it updates and tells him his copy of XP is NOT genuine..;)

    :D
     
  11. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    #12 911medic, Dec 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    This Bios may have the older ASUSTek Pegasus slp..I will look tonight, but the SLP may have been in the factory bios..You may not have to use the tattoo, or a slic bios for that matter. I thought you had a WHS in mind...my bad:eek:

    The SLIC mod likely has NO SLP added to it..this was not the norm at the time of the mod......
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,618
    232
    60
    So this here DMI cd...

    Yes it's in yes i pressed "4"....

    now what...

    gobbledy gook to me :confused:
     
  13. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,618
    232
    60
    Just flashed the BIOS with that file i downloaded.

    Nowt went bang and XP booted up.

    XP seems to run OK,which surprises me and all the drivers are fine,i got sound and a neat looking screen resolution.

    Yes happy with XP.

    So i had to try the validation test. no prizes for what it said...:D

    So now i just made an XP Pro SP1 HP OEM disc.
    This is installing as i type so i will test the validation later on.

    Not sure if HP SLP1.0 has been flashed or not. Dont know how to test this.
     
  14. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,618
    232
    60
    Well my home made XP Pro Sp1 HP OEM installed a treat.

    Oh and it passed the validation test...

    Oh that feels good.

    My mate will think i am a god of the PC....

    shhhhhh dont tell him i aint...:cool:


    thanks for all help and advice on this one...:)


    knowing my mate though...He'll want more...
     
  15. feappyunupS

    feappyunupS MDL Novice

    Dec 16, 2009
    14
    0
    0
    BIOS Flash for older PCs Is it possible is there any point

    Thats a great article I used approach 4 and it seemed to work. But I get to the "Update System Program" and it tells me "The system program file was not found on the CD. Insert the correct CD in the drive."

    If I go back out to the prompt, I can type dir and clearly see the BIOS. Any other thoughts?
     
  16. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,618
    232
    60
    Hi...

    Not sure what "approach 4" is,sorry.
    Some sort of BIOS tool ?

    I flashed this old board via a floppy with the tool downloaded from the mobo's web site.

    Not sure this helps you out....
     
  17. Liebo

    Liebo MDL Member

    Jul 9, 2009
    133
    2
    10
    Did you check to see if the original BIOS had the AsusTek strings in using the DMI Tatoo disc? I mean, before giving it HP strings?

    I've worked with equally old hardware, usually pick them up form friends and relatives when they upgrade, I have a number of PCs just sat about not doing anything. I fix them up, play with BIOS etc, install various OS on them to see what works and then leave them after I get bored. Only if the computer is well and truely past it, I leave it alone.