BIOS flash help

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by Geeves00, Nov 13, 2008.

1. Geeves00

Geeves00 MDL Novice

Nov 13, 2008
    I've never done a BIOS flash before and was hoping someone could give me some directions.

A little back story...... The PC suddenly started running extremely slow when it came to anything explorer.exe related (ex. Click on start, wait 3-4 minutes, click on programs, wait 3-5 minutes, etc...). However once an app is opened the app will run fine until it has to interact with explorer (ex. saving a file). Also the CD-Roms will not show up in My Computer (was able to get them to show up after playing with the registry, but they do not read any media).

I went through extensive malware/spyware troubleshooting on other forums and we were not able to find anything of substance. The PC runs fine in safe mode (when it will actually boot to safe mode, it tends to hang up most of the time).

I figured I would try to reimage the machine and just start over.... however I cannot get the pc to boot from a CD. The boot order is correct and there is activity on the CD-ROM when it tried to detect bootable media, however it ends up just sitting there until I eject the CD.

I downloaded the auto flash utility from the Biostar site that you can run in windows but it will not launch on the PC. It just sits in taskmanager running at 99% CPU and never loads.

Motherboard NameBiostar M7NCG 400
    CPU TypeAMD Athlon XP, 2083 MHz (12.5 x 167) 2800+

Any ideas?

2. kvic

kvic MDL Junior Member

May 25, 2007
    a word to the wise DO NOT FLASH YOUR BIOS IN WINDOWS find the dos version of your flash utility ,make a bootable floppy put your flash .exe and your new bios update on it and go that way.

3. zort

zort MDL Expert

Feb 19, 2008
    I would try disconnecting the cdrom drive, and see if that fixes the explorer problem. If so you know you need a new dvdrw.

4. urie

urie Moderator
    Staff Member

May 21, 2007