Bios Mod Failed to Activate; Activation Successful w/Windows 7 Bootloader?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jpl327, Jan 19, 2010.

1. jpl327

jpl327 MDL Novice

Jan 16, 2010
    Hello All,

I'm new to the concepts of a modded bios and the Slic 2.1 table. Thinking I needed a bios mod for my ASUS M2A-VM HDMI bios ver. 2302, I downloaded and flashed ASUS M2A-VM HDMI 2302 SLIC 2.1 (HP). I installed Windows 7 Ultimate and copied the ASUS certificate to C:\ and manually installed the certificate and a valid key. Windows failed to activate. I tried a different ASUS cert. and another key. (Resetting tokens as well). Reluctantly, having nearly succeded, I opted to use the Windows 7 Boot Loader. It worked perfectly, and I'm happy with the results, but I have a few questions:

1. Was it the wrong cert that caused it to fail? I didn't realize the modded bios was HP until after the fact (I used an ASUS Cert).

2. Would it be beneficial to pursue getting an activation via the modded bios as opposed to the bootloader? I realize this would mean starting over, but I'd be willing to do it for the sake of learning.

3. If my current installation crashes is it possible to reinstall Windows using the current key/activation or would I have to repeat the mod/Cert/Key procedure?

2. HotCarl

HotCarl MDL Addicted

Jul 21, 2009
    #2 HotCarl, Jan 19, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (1)
    That is your problem right there. You need to install an HP certificate if you use HP SLIC... Only the vendors of the product keys dont have to match (just the edition of Windows 7 the product key is for matters; e.g. if it is for Home Basic vs Ultimate...)

(2)
    If I were you and knew how to mod your BIOS (and you have a BIOS that can be modded)...and you are comfortable with the process, and know the risks inherent in flashing a BIOS...then I would recommend that you mod it... You might as well... :p

(3)