Bios recovery - Dell Inspiron 530

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by chrisgarman, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. chrisgarman

    chrisgarman MDL Novice

    Oct 25, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    Hi,

    I have just unsuccessfully tried to flash my dell Inspiron 530 with Intel G33 chipset.

    Does anyone have details how to perform a Bios recovery?

    It does not seem to be trying to load from a CD or floppy. I have tried removing the cmos jumper. Also I have two CMOS jumpers, one for the password.

    The Dell bios file is a .BIN - I seem to have the award bios, however there is a chip soldered onto my motherboard with a phoenix hologram on? Awdflash was happy to try and flash my system.

    I have also tried to restore from a CD with the Intel .bio file.

    Should I see any messages on the screen? My monitor just goes into powersave?

    Thanks in advance for any help.

    Chris
     
  2. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    #2 shakeyplace, Oct 25, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  3. chrisgarman

    chrisgarman MDL Novice

    Oct 25, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    Hi,
    Thanks for your reply, I have tried that, but my system does not appear to try and access the CD, or USB stick. I may try again with a floppy drive from another PC as this dell does not have its own floppy.

    One Bios company (biosman) say they can't assist dell issues. Is it OK to flash them??

    Chris
     
  4. Dontshoot

    Dontshoot MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    38
    0
    0
    #4 Dontshoot, Oct 25, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Do a search On ebay for
    Code:
    BIOS Chip:DELL INSPIRON 518 519 530 530S 531 531S
    This is where i got my new chip after a bad flash.

    Im not sure about this. but i have heard of a few people on dell forums doing this.
    I was told this before i knew that my chip could be removed.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    #5 shakeyplace, Oct 25, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    there is a confirmed working bios in the second post of Dell Bios Mods and a post also by Busykid508 in a newer post (not sure if it is the same?), it is not a Dell-Phoenix bios but is a Dell bios.... reports say it can be modded, maybe if you get the new chip and have the nerve try the one in the second post on the first page of the thread, it is the one that was confirmed working and instructions are posted...
     
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    #6 urie, Oct 26, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    It can be modded done mines months back used andyp's awardtool and flashed from dos with awdflash.exe 713D1P53.bin /py/sn/cc
     
  7. chrisgarman

    chrisgarman MDL Novice

    Oct 25, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    Thanks urie,
    That dos command is exactly what I did when I bricked it :(

    You've not by chance details of how to force the mb to do a bios recovery?

    Chris
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    No sorry i don't never had to do bios recovery. dell inspiron 530 preprogrammed chips available here http://bios-repair.co.uk/ref/mdellcr.htm
     
  9. nuhkka

    nuhkka MDL Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    175
    22
    10
    ah crap i was gonna flash my dell 530 but idk.. i heard theres a method where you update the firmware, then change come file during the installation and itll mod your bios, but idk if itll work
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...