Boot.wim

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by nipponico, Nov 3, 2016.

  1. nipponico

    nipponico MDL Novice

    Nov 18, 2015
    11
    1
    0
    Can I remove index 1 from boot.wim? What's for?
     
  2. farukkaraca

    farukkaraca MDL Member

    Sep 27, 2009
    171
    96
    10
    #2 farukkaraca, Nov 3, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2016
    Boot.wim Index : 1 is Microsoft Windows PE (Windows Preinstallation Environment)
    Boot.wim Index : 2 is Microsoft Windows Setup

    [FONT=&amp]Windows Preinstallation Environment is a minimal Win32 operating system with limited services. It is used to prepare a computer for Windows installation, to copy disk images from a network file server, and to initiate Windows Setup.

    As you can see from the definition , you shouldnt remove Index:1[/FONT]
     
  3. John Sutherland

    John Sutherland MDL Senior Member

    Oct 15, 2014
    476
    623
    10
    Rule #1 when playing with Windows: If you don't have any idea what something is used for, then don't delete it. It's probably there for a reason.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. nipponico

    nipponico MDL Novice

    Nov 18, 2015
    11
    1
    0
    So index 2 what's for?

    I use the ISO only for clean install, not upgrade...
     
  5. KNARZ

    KNARZ MDL Addicted

    Oct 9, 2012
    865
    447
    30
    You can remove index 1. - It's the bare metal PE environment. Index 2 is the Setup environment (thats get's booted).
    I guess this is kind of by design. - MS compiles PE and afterwards they add the setup packages (also included in adk) to a new wim/index.
    I guess this is just because of the internal workflow. - MS also doesn't really clear some builds, so can find [Files] / [Deleted] if you open some of them in 7zip or similar.
    Just export index 2 and you will be fine and save few MB.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    7,151
    21,894
    240
    AFAIK, index 1 is used or required when doing in-place upgrade

    and it's used by Microsoft Deployment Toolkit
     
  7. glennsamuel32

    glennsamuel32 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 15, 2012
    271
    87
    10
    I assume the only reason to do this is to save space...
    Instead of deleting anything, convert the boot & install wims to esd...
     
  8. nipponico

    nipponico MDL Novice

    Nov 18, 2015
    11
    1
    0
    So useless for clean install, right?
     
  9. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    12,361
    13,456
    340
    #9 Enthousiast, Nov 3, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2016
    Deleting index #1 results in approx. 5MB decrease in size of boot.wim (clean en-US x86 boot.wim).

    Clean install: works
    Repair options during setup: works
    Inplace upgrade: Runs atm works
     
  10. KNARZ

    KNARZ MDL Addicted

    Oct 9, 2012
    865
    447
    30
    Thanks for checking!

    - Yeah, I assumed it's all about Clean Install. Beside from abbodi1406 mentions- Not sure how WinRE gets created. Maybe it also depends on index 1.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. rpo

    rpo MDL Senior Member

    Jan 3, 2010
    428
    153
    10
    #11 rpo, Nov 3, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    What you want to do is absolutly useless :
    Code:
    boot.wim for Windows 64 bit AU build 14393.351
    original size : 284 163 kB
    after deletion of index 1 : 284 631 kB (greater!)
    after export : 272 285 kB 
    
    As suggest glennsamuel32, convert your install.wim to install.esd.
     
  12. garf02

    garf02 MDL Member

    Sep 15, 2007
    159
    54
    10
    Winre.wim is inside at the install.wim in the directory windows\system\recovery.
    During the installation this file it is copied in the partition Recovery or in the folder Recovery in root of C:
     
  13. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    12,361
    13,456
    340
    Converting Boot.wim > boot.esd?
     
  14. nipponico

    nipponico MDL Novice

    Nov 18, 2015
    11
    1
    0
    Not only.

    I use abbodi1406 script to integrate update and if I delete useless indexes I save a lot of time!

    So I deleted with NTLite the "Professional" index from install.wim (I install Home) and I would like to delete WindowsPE index from boot.wim.

    50% cut of time!
     
  15. glennsamuel32

    glennsamuel32 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 15, 2012
    271
    87
    10
    #15 glennsamuel32, Nov 4, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2016
    Ahh I see it now...
    I meant the install.wim to esd only...
     
  16. rpo

    rpo MDL Senior Member

    Jan 3, 2010
    428
    153
    10
    If time is your problem, invoke dism : a) mount the install.wim with index 2 (home) b) apply the .msu or .cab updates (you can use WHDonloader) c) unmout and you have an updated install.wim.
     
  17. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    12,361
    13,456
    340
    He uses abbodi1406's W10UI script to update all wims.

    It's not about updating, he wants to delete the first index of the boot.wim, and for clean install, inplace upgrade and the repair options, index 1 doesn't seem to be needed.
     
  18. nipponico

    nipponico MDL Novice

    Nov 18, 2015
    11
    1
    0
    I can use also NTLite to integrate updates, but for winre.wim is a bit difficult, so I prefer abbodi1406's script.

    But after two pages of messages I haven't understand yet what's index 1 for? :)