Buy one retail license for two machines possible with other mods?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by kocoman, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. kocoman

    kocoman MDL Senior Member

    May 16, 2007
    328
    4
    10
    In the forums, they mostly talk about OEM mods, what about for those using Retail version that is one license per computer. is it possible to have two machines successfully active/and update with one license?
     
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    No it is not possible
     
  3. האח_הגדול

    האח_הגדול MDL Novice

    Dec 22, 2008
    44
    1
    0
    maybe it's can be possible if you will activate both computers by phone (never activate by internet)
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    And what would they say when you phone up with the same serial number:p
     
  5. HSChronic

    HSChronic MDL Expert

    Aug 25, 2007
    1,213
    57
    60
    They ask for the first 6 digits of the install ID, then they ask for the product type, and how many computer it is installed on. Once you answer the questions they give you the activation code. How you answer those questions is up to you.
     
  6. odinthegreatone

    odinthegreatone MDL Junior Member

    Dec 4, 2008
    73
    1
    0
    Well if the two machines are identical, just activate one then clone the installation for the second machine.
     
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
  8. odinthegreatone

    odinthegreatone MDL Junior Member

    Dec 4, 2008
    73
    1
    0
    I know it works, because thats what we do at the workplace. We make one image and then clone it to all the other workstations and they update fine. We do have a license for each machine, but this way it saves time.
     
  9. thepfy

    thepfy MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2008
    24
    2
    0
    But you are probably using XP Pro with a VLK (Volume Licence Key) or Vista Business which validates against your KMS server every 120 days.
     
  10. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    Yes but you ain't using a retail licence think you need to do more research if you want to stay in you job:D
     
  11. odinthegreatone

    odinthegreatone MDL Junior Member

    Dec 4, 2008
    73
    1
    0
    It works even with an oem license, and I have two machines with it activated and working, same hardware congifuration. Its true I haven't tested a retail license, but it works. Heck, I even have two with different hardware working thanks to Acronis Universal Restore. Both Update fine.
     
  12. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    @ odinthegreatone, ok i understand if using acronis universal restore i have it never actually used it . You can do bare metal restores say with vlk key, to any machines they may have different hardware i still don't understand how it is working with oem or retail i don't mean OEM SLP, windows may update but have you tried passing widows validation ?
     
  13. odinthegreatone

    odinthegreatone MDL Junior Member

    Dec 4, 2008
    73
    1
    0
    I been able to reactivate no problem and it has been able to receive updates on both machines and it isn't using some bios mod or oem SLP key either. It is using one legit OEM license but for two machines.
     
  14. ultraber

    ultraber MDL Novice

    Apr 11, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    More advanced forms of case modding involve building machines into weird and
    unlikely shapes. ... Window mods: Putting a window within one of the panels of a
    computer case. .... Modders also found a way to power neon lighting and other
    powered ... This article is licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License