calling microsoft vs daz loader?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by mamamia88, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. mamamia88

    mamamia88 MDL Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    112
    1
    10
    the legal copy i bought from digital river won't install with my valid key. i did buy the 32 bit home premium version and downloaded the 64 bit home premium version from the digital river thread on here. exact same hardware with exception of harddrive. is it even worth going through microsoft customer support to not worry about updates or should i just use daz loader?
     
  2. donalgodon

    donalgodon MDL Member

    Jul 21, 2010
    161
    2
    10
    If you bought it, I'd make an effort. At the very least, if they don't help you, you can remind the MS customer service rep know why so many folks hate them. :)
     
  3. mamamia88

    mamamia88 MDL Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    112
    1
    10
    alright i will call hopefully it doesn't take too long
     
  4. mamamia88

    mamamia88 MDL Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    112
    1
    10
    #4 mamamia88, Jul 31, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 31, 2010
    (OP)
    i'm going with the loader. pressed 0 a bunch of times then finally got transfered to a agent and they said they where having difficulties and to call back in half hour. i think it would be useless seeing how my activation code is for an upgrade version and there is no way in hell i'm going back and installing vista then reinstalling 7.
     
  5. WinFLP

    WinFLP MDL Senior Member

    Nov 18, 2009
    499
    281
    10
    Now that you trickled out the information that your initial purchase was an Upgrade version, try this:
    During installation decline to enter a product key.

    Modify the following registry entry.

    HKLM/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Setup/OOBE/
    Change MediaBootInstall from "1" to "0".

    Admin CMD:
    slmgr /rearm

    Once the computer reboots try entering your key again.
     
  6. mamamia88

    mamamia88 MDL Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    112
    1
    10
    too bad i already used the loader. what is even the point of selling an upgrade version?
     
  7. WinFLP

    WinFLP MDL Senior Member

    Nov 18, 2009
    499
    281
    10
    Providing a SKU that's discounted over a full retail version for users that already have a licence for Windows.
     
  8. mamamia88

    mamamia88 MDL Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    112
    1
    10
    they could just make it cheaper to begin with. i'm too lazy to install an old operating system just so i can install the new one
     
  9. trolltamer2

    trolltamer2 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 5, 2007
    85
    4
    0
    You don't need too!!!! it will just ask for your old product key when you install to validate it!
     
  10. mamamia88

    mamamia88 MDL Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    112
    1
    10
    yes but i have an upgrade key which doesn't work for fresh installs. i'm coming from ubuntu so i don't have a copy of vista installed anymore. i wiped that crap a long time ago
     
  11. WinFLP

    WinFLP MDL Senior Member

    Nov 18, 2009
    499
    281
    10
    That's why you just have to make the registry modification as indicated.
     
  12. ozgurozt

    ozgurozt MDL Novice

    Aug 7, 2009
    17
    0
    0
    i dont believe this
     
  13. myhken

    myhken Experienced MDL Tester

    Feb 28, 2010
    919
    635
    30
  14. WinFLP

    WinFLP MDL Senior Member

    Nov 18, 2009
    499
    281
    10
    That's okay, I don't know if the OP actually read my instructions.
     
  15. myhken

    myhken Experienced MDL Tester

    Feb 28, 2010
    919
    635
    30
    Maybe he could look at my pictures...LOL :p
     
  16. angelwolf71885

    angelwolf71885 MDL Novice

    Sep 3, 2009
    17
    1
    0
    or he could of just did the double install trick

    installing WITHOUT product key

    and then immediately using the media from whiten windows
    choose the upgrade option and enter your product key boom done only 1 hour of time
     
  17. WinFLP

    WinFLP MDL Senior Member

    Nov 18, 2009
    499
    281
    10
    #18 WinFLP, Aug 1, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 1, 2010
    Why the f*** would you do that, wasting another 15-30 minutes when you can mod the registry in a minute?
     
  18. angelwolf71885

    angelwolf71885 MDL Novice

    Sep 3, 2009
    17
    1
    0
    some people just dont feel comfortable with the regastry

    hell people will use a tool that alls you had to do was enter the product key and the tool dose the rest
     
  19. xrdguy

    xrdguy MDL Novice

    Feb 17, 2010
    46
    6
    0
    I fell stupid on behalf of OP. Why pay and buy licence when all you are gonna use is Daz loader.