Can I swap my SSD without a Windows 7 re-install?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by donalgodon, Aug 25, 2010.

1. donalgodon

donalgodon MDL Member

Jul 21, 2010
    I have an Asus UL30 that my wife is going to use because she needs a good laptop for the university. I'll probably replace it with another Asus but a different model. Can I take the SSD out and just install it in my new Asus (from the old one) without having to re-install Windows 7?

They may or may not have the same processor, etc. but will this make a difference?

Just to know if I can save time and I don't want to format the SSD for performance reasons.

On a related note, how can I make a USB DOS bootable with HDD Erase? I read the instructions, but I'm still a bit lost.

I'm a noob. I apologize. :biggrin:

2. mamamia88

mamamia88 MDL Member

Dec 26, 2009
    it probably won't boot properly.

3. Zeratul

Zeratul MDL Junior Member

Jun 20, 2009
    ive heard that arconis can remove the system-specific windows components of a backup, so that you can restore it on a different system. but i dont know if you can do that to an active disc.

you might want to look into that though.

4. donalgodon

donalgodon MDL Member

Jul 21, 2010
    Problem for me is that when I installed the SSD and booted the DVD Win 7, I could not format the drive. I just installed, so I don't know if I'll even be able to install the OS or reformat, since I don't have any other way to do it.

Any suggestions?

5. kubato

kubato MDL Member

Jul 29, 2009
    If both systems are Intel and close chipset you should not have a problem but, you cannot go from Intel chipset to AMD or vice versa. Try it and if it does not boot even in safe mode then you know but, I do not think you will have a problem.
    Soon I hope to get a SSD too......

6. deMarchi

deMarchi MDL Junior Member

Nov 7, 2009