Can the Hyper-V BIOS be modded?

Discussion in 'Virtualization' started by reginakampher, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. reginakampher

    reginakampher MDL Addicted

    Apr 5, 2008
    678
    149
    30
    #1 reginakampher, Aug 17, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,726
    3,094
    300
    @ reginakampher

    @ TheOneAndOnly
    , what can i say thanks think we may need to start a new thread on forum for translations, i will get back to Award Super static and just when we are talking.
    Glad to see work on BIOSOEMXP4.9 dangerous program running it on you system if you dont know what it can do :) i mean novice presses wrong button and reboots windows and next thing is there not activated, so keep up the good work translating.

    P.S. better than the old way i used to do it editing in Hiew and asking my daughter to translate from german to english for example.. this was before Internet just BB's:D
     
  3. TheOneAndOnly

    TheOneAndOnly MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2007
    96
    3
    0
    #3 TheOneAndOnly, Aug 19, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. reginakampher

    reginakampher MDL Addicted

    Apr 5, 2008
    678
    149
    30
    #4 reginakampher, Aug 19, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. TheOneAndOnly

    TheOneAndOnly MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2007
    96
    3
    0
    I used MMTool v2.22.1 and it opens it. You think it will make any difference using it?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. reginakampher

    reginakampher MDL Addicted

    Apr 5, 2008
    678
    149
    30
    I used amimmwin.exe to see if the BIOS is recognized since it is used to reinsert the 1b module. It didn't recognize it so even if you could extract with with MMTool 2.22.1, it would be fruitless since you can't replace it using amimmwin.exe. There may be a different way modders are doing it so I will relist it in the BIOS mod request thread with additional information.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. TheOneAndOnly

    TheOneAndOnly MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2007
    96
    3
    0
    #7 TheOneAndOnly, Aug 21, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. reginakampher

    reginakampher MDL Addicted

    Apr 5, 2008
    678
    149
    30
    You should seek the advice of an expert in the request thread. I am not confident enough to give advice for "real" BIOSes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,252
    11,071
    340
    I've decided to post the mod results of 13500.rom (VM bios) here:

    Well it isn't a AMI core 7 bios but core 8. So amibcp and bcp don't work.

    The Acpi tables are at 1b module, clear text, non compressed. The module information seems to be removed.
    Just to hexedit didn't work, right?

    Never had this before. A way is to reinsert the modified 1b module uncompressed into a dummy bios and to copy and paste it after into the vm-bios.

    The question is: How is it formatted? Are there any header / checksum bytes?

    More work to analyse it to do.............
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. reginakampher

    reginakampher MDL Addicted

    Apr 5, 2008
    678
    149
    30
    Thank you for your initial report. Yes, just to hex edit did not work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,252
    11,071
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. reginakampher

    reginakampher MDL Addicted

    Apr 5, 2008
    678
    149
    30
    Ok. TheOneAndOnly, you take over from here. I don't have server 2008 so I can't test it.
    Thank you Yen for your expertise.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. TheOneAndOnly

    TheOneAndOnly MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2007
    96
    3
    0
    Looks to be a no go :(

    I had reinserted the BIOS into the vmwp.exe with both Restorator 2007 and XN Resource Editor. I got the same results as before for both of them, unless I am doing something wrong.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. petar

    petar MDL Expert

    Apr 5, 2008
    1,188
    86
    60
    @yen at least you were able to open the bios with mmtool 2.x....:eek:
    One question though...
    How is it that mmtool 2x opens the bios and mmtool 3x doesnt ?
    BTW. I've tryed to open the bios with all ver. of amibcp/bcp and still no go.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. TheOneAndOnly

    TheOneAndOnly MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2007
    96
    3
    0
    #15 TheOneAndOnly, Aug 22, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,252
    11,071
    340
    #16 Yen, Aug 22, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017

    My mod doesn't work.....I was afraid of that.........

    I don't know.... I thought Mmtool 2.x and amibcp / bcp 7.x /AMIMM was made for AMIBIOS07XX which is core 7 bios.....

    And Mmtool 3.x / AMIMMWIN / BCP 3.x was made for AMIBIOS08XX core8 bioses...

    This one must be a early AMIBIOS08XX as you can find the string. The copyright is 2001, but the biosdate is from 2008!!!

    Mmtool2.X shouldn't open it! We have to find the same kind of AMI bios we also should have a look at a old AMI07XX again.... but they have got a completely different module structure... 0F module = acpi table module......

    IMO M$ has removed module info. I don't know why it doesn't work. m$ has probably made some code that prevents to mod..... I'll have a look again..........

    @TheOneAndOnly
    But there is a solution since the bios contains a M$ SLIC already:

    Why don't you use WoW by flagmax to patch the Microsoft SLIC? .... to have a look if it works....

    Actually the vm bios is a kind of software as well. Can you write MBR at a Virtual machine??? If not we can try to fit wow installation therefore. Can you locate the separate biosfile after installation?

    I first suggest to you to try flagmax iso found at bottom of:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/33629

    Burn it onto bootable CD, don't try to install Wow.exe now......boot with it.... (boot priority 1).........it is made to start bootmgr (Vista), don't know if it's needed to change because you want to start server 2008.......The iso looks for SLIC at bios, patches it to HP-SLIC and will start bootmgr after all.......have a look at ats report, if you have got HP SLIC and the right OEM IDs................


    Maybe Regina can add some words regarding VM and WoW.........

    Edit: I've seen it's 64 bit only.. so Wow is a posibility... Hyper V what is it exactly? A Virtual machine only? A complete OS?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,726
    3,094
    300
    #17 urie, Aug 22, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  18. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,252
    11,071
    340
    With a corresponding memdump it should be no problem.....(F0000-FFFFFh)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. TheOneAndOnly

    TheOneAndOnly MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2007
    96
    3
    0
    No problem, I will update the previous post with the files :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. TheOneAndOnly

    TheOneAndOnly MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2007
    96
    3
    0
    #20 TheOneAndOnly, Aug 22, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...