Can two Windows Server Domains co-exist?

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by Leica, Feb 9, 2013.

1. Leica

Leica MDL Member

Nov 15, 2012
    I have setup an Active Directory on a server and with two client PCs.

Now I want to setup another Active Directory (new domain name and new DNS server) on another server and connect a couple of new PCs to the new domain.

All are virtual machines pretty much and all use the same network with the same IP addresses 192.168.1.x

Will I have any problems? Obviously I am going to keep them isolated, i.e. the ones part of the new domain won't even know about the old domain with a different name and clients lurking around on the same network with similar IP addresses.

And of course this will be temporary until the new domain is all tested and up and running. Then the old domain server and clients will be put to death :twisted:

Thanks.

2. Leica

Leica MDL Member

Nov 15, 2012
    This is not a production environment. I am just a hobbyist!

I am setting up a Windows Server network to learn and play with it. I already have one at the moment which I also used for learning and testing. So should I delete that old network before I create a new one or can I keep that going for a while?

There are absolutely no data files of importance on the old one! Still it would be nice to have it alive so that I can try and experiment with it.

3. Leica

Leica MDL Member

Nov 15, 2012
    Thanks. I thought so, that should be OK.

My DHCP server is my Apple Airport Extreme router! Will that be OK with a Windows Server 2012? Or do I have to have a dedicated DHCP server?