Cannot access a Windows XP PC from a Windows 7 PC

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by markmadras, Apr 2, 2011.

1. markmadras

markmadras MDL Novice

Apr 14, 2010
    Tried every fix I can find, there has to be a way to do this.

Windows XP Pro SP3 (very old and slow PC) can see the shared files on the Windows 7 Home PC (build 7600) on a wireless home network. But not the other way around. The windows 7 PC can see the XP machine but cannot get access.

Everything is set as it should be, both have the same workgroup name and different computer names. I have plenty of experience fixing other problems but this one has got me well and truly stuck.

Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

2. zahnoo

zahnoo MDL Senior Member

Feb 2, 2011
    #2 zahnoo, Apr 2, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2011
    Simple sharing disabled and drive and folder sharing setup with proper permissions on the XP machine? I had a mix on my LAN for months and never had a problem sharing but I understand how frustrating this can be.

When you say old and slow, how old and slow? I've got 7 running on two netbooks and three old AMD socket A desktops. Once I disabled animations, slide opens and the like (which I hate anyway) they're all noticeably quicker than XP ever was. The socket A motherboards are circa 2004-2005 and Microsoft supplied all the drivers I needed for them to run perfectly. My experience is 7 is not nearly as picky as you might think on old machines.

Unless multitasking is a priority for you, it's not for me, I'd suggest you think about moving your old computer to 7. I'm sure others here will express their opinion on that.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. 皆さんこんにちはマギです

Feb 24, 2011
    you may have Administrative Share disabled on Win7.

Go into Network and check the sharing options.

it sounds like you're an expert, so you probably just have to step away for a bit.
    it's probably something stupid you missed.