Cannot change admin settings after running KSMnano

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by worldin, Feb 1, 2013.

  1. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    I recently bought a new computer and it was shipped with original windows 8 pro, today i downloaded and installed office 2013 pro plus and used the kmsnano to activate, it now seems like i kmsnano reactivated my already legitimate version of windows 8 pro, and now i cannot do any administrative changes in windows, anything with that "windows shield" is unaccesable, like they are dead links.

    In the "make changes to your user account"
    i cannot do anything that needs higher permission.
    Cannot change the "behavior" of windows update..

    Can someone maybe give me a hint on what to do here, am i able to restore the original activation that i had prior? have not made any backups.

    Does KMSNano make bios changes?

    feeling pretty frustrated and a little bit stupid for "loosing" my original activation.

    Any help would be greatly apreciated
     
  2. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,955
    19,856
    340
    #2 s1ave77, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Which version of KMSnano was used? Did you download from here or somewhere from the net?

    No BIOS changes are done by it.

    Open administrative CMD and input:
    Code:
    cscript slmgr.vbs /dlv
    .
    Rightclick output, choose "Mark", mark it and hit ENTER to copy it to clipboard, then post here please.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    Hi, i used version 13 i think.
    From pirate bay.
     
  4. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    #4 worldin, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2013
    (OP)
     
  5. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,955
    19,856
    340
    See my edit and post the output here, please. Btw, no clue, if it was an untouched version you got. Older versions can break retail activation, but the described errors don´t sound, if they are related to KMSnano.


    EDIT: Windows is still retail activated. Better mask the IDs.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,955
    19,856
    340
    #6 s1ave77, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Did you use others activators before? Would recommend to do a system file check via:
    Code:
    sfc /scannow
    in admin. CMD and reboot if promted.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    ok thanks, i changed them slightly before posting ... :)

    Any clue as to why i cannot do any of the changes that i described? cannot change any user accounts, windows update settings etc.
     
  8. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    #8 worldin, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    ok will do
     
  9. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,955
    19,856
    340
    See post above yours and run system file integrity check, as recommended.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    #10 worldin, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Windows was original, came with the computer i purchased, i used the KMSNano 13 after installing office 2013, then i ran the triggerkms from KMSnano 19.1, then after that i checked and could not unable the windows update feature that updates office, and checked that my windows was activated today....
     
  11. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,955
    19,856
    340
    #11 s1ave77, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    KMSnano didn´t change activation channel, as the output shows:
    Code:
    Name: Windows(R), Professional edition
    Description: Windows(R) Operating System, OEM_DM channel
    
    
    Use License URL: 
    Validation URL: 
    Partial Product Key: XXXXX
    License Status: Licensed
    Remaining Windows rearm count: 1000
    Trusted time: 1/31/2013 5:55:21 PM
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    #12 worldin, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    oh, ok, how come it says trusted time 1/31/2013 5:55, thats when i ran the kms thing

    EDIT:

    i guess this is when i got the read, but when i go "windowskey+pause/break key" and go to view details in windows activation it says it was activated today, or it says 1/31/2013..

    it seems like this is affecting anything that has to do with user control settings.
     
  13. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    #13 worldin, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    C:\Windows\system32>sfc /scannow

    Beginning system scan. This process will take some time.

    Beginning verification phase of system scan.
    Verification 100% complete.

    Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations.

    .............
     
  14. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,955
    19,856
    340
    It´s the system time of the moment you check via "/dlv"-command. The date of activation you see in control panel, by pressing Win-Key+ Pause(or Break), and then details of activation at Bottom of the page.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    yes it says activated on 1/31/2013.

    Would be then be correct to assume that i am nolonger running my original key ?
     
  16. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,955
    19,856
    340
    #16 s1ave77, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2013
    Partial key in output seems to be a Retail Key not a generic client key, which is needed for KMS, so i guess is still activated by your own key.
    Due to system is not that long installed, would remmonend doing a refresh of your installation.


    EDIT: If not done yet, best is to use LaFinalNano 19.1 (the original name of the tool by heldigard) from the sticky threads DOWNLOAD section, see first link in my signature.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. worldin

    worldin MDL Novice

    Feb 1, 2013
    19
    3
    0
    Hey, thank you very much for your replies and help.

    I am doing the "inbuilt" reset in windows 8, hope this does the trick. and man this is taking a long time. 2 hrs at 39%...

    well its almost bed time, nice having someone that responded.

    thank you
     
  18. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,955
    19,856
    340
    Report how this story ended...:D.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. crabhunter

    crabhunter MDL Junior Member

    Dec 30, 2009
    75
    5
    0
    I shall be following this thread with interest as I also cannot access users in the control panel, I will check tonight if I can get into updates.
    I had a MAK+Phone activation but I did run whatever kmsmicro was available at the time to activate Office.
    scannow reported corrupted files but was unable to restore them.
    Mike
     
  20. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,955
    19,856
    340
    Definitly seems that system files were tampered. In this case either resfresh/reset or reinstall will solve, i guess.
    Due to i used LaNano likewise without any of these issues, i highly doubt it´s caused by this tool.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...