Cannot get W10 installed

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by davecabezo, Oct 20, 2015.

1. davecabezo

davecabezo MDL Novice

Aug 6, 2011
    Hi
    Trying to install W10 on a partition on a spare HDD drive but keep getting the message "couldn't creat a new partition or locate an existing one" I've tried, changing a partition to free space, changing it to primary partition, logical drive etc but still getting the same message. I've removed all usb sticks, apart from my keyboard, nothing works.

Any further suggestions please

Dave

2. LiteOS

LiteOS Windowizer

Mar 7, 2014
    try to boot the installation disc from legacy bios not efi

3. davecabezo

davecabezo MDL Novice

Aug 6, 2011
    Many thanks for your reply but I'm a novice when it comes to bios etc. could you tell me how to carry that out please

4. LiteOS

LiteOS Windowizer

Mar 7, 2014
    when powering on the pc
    go to boot menu
    its should be with pressing F12 key
    or F8

u will see in the menu the disc with and without UEFI prefix
    choose the without prefix and see how its going

5. odiebugs1

odiebugs1 MDL Expert

Jul 30, 2015

Is your cat playing a stratocaster ?. LMAO

If that's a spare drive then do you really need it partitioned beyond the main one, if not then just pay attention the the drive listed when installing windows, your OS should be disk 0 and the other spare should be disk one if you only have the two.

Just delete and partitions you see for disk 1, then you'll see the unallocated partition- disk 1. Highlight the drive and go to NEW and set size, now you'll see the two partitions and install to the larger one not the MBR or UEFI if you booted from a fat32 flash drive and picked UEFI drive.

This is if it wasn't as Lite8 said and was just the drive not unallocated.

6. Enthousiast

Enthousiast MDL Tester

Oct 30, 2009
    Sorry,

You can do all this but you're a novice in bios?

7. kaljukass

kaljukass MDL Guru

Nov 26, 2012