Can't activate Malwarebytes Premium License

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by WinFree, Mar 18, 2019.

  1. WinFree

    WinFree MDL Senior Member

    Aug 6, 2016
    253
    48
    10
    #1 WinFree, Mar 18, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
    When I try to do a new install and activate Malwarebytes Premium license it says that it has been installed on too many devices and won't activate license. How do I fix this? My license is paid for and legit.
     
  2. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,955
    2,071
    210
    Contact Malwarebytes directly and explain your issues to them! That would the only way to solve such a problem!

    If you (or someone else who has access to your (own?) product key of Malwarebytes) installed on several different devices, Malwarebytes could block your License if they want to do so.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    6,422
    14,159
    210
    Actually buying it, troll.
     
  4. WinFree

    WinFree MDL Senior Member

    Aug 6, 2016
    253
    48
    10
    Thanks for the reply. I can't find any email to contact them. Do they have an email to contact them? Can't find it anywhere.
     
  5. WinFree

    WinFree MDL Senior Member

    Aug 6, 2016
    253
    48
    10
    My license is paid for and legit.
     
  6. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2012
    1,366
    474
    60
    Did you have the same key in use on the same computer before upgrading and MB was activated?
    Is the Windows.old folder already deleted or is it still there? If so, then Your activation data is in folder Programdata/Malwarebytes - close MB and copy it to current programdata folder, now if You restart MB, it should be activated, if was before activated.
    But the other thing is not believable, MB haven't never sold the same kay for different users. And any key can be used in three different computers, tha's it and if You already have used it in three computers, then is all.
    I doubt the support will help You. Have never heard that somebody have got help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. WinFree

    WinFree MDL Senior Member

    Aug 6, 2016
    253
    48
    10
    I have only installed it on new clean installs. I have probably activated it too many times. Maybe you have to deactivate it before activate it on new install?
     
  8. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2012
    1,366
    474
    60
    #10 kaljukass, Mar 18, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2019
    It doesn't help. As I said, You must backup Malwarebytes folder from directory Programdata, activation info is stored there. File name I don't remember because I do not use it for long time already.
    It is a much wiser thing, if not to put such a malware knowingly on own computer. It's really well known malware now. It was useful and usable before 2015, but not no more.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. DPyro

    DPyro MDL Novice

    Mar 21, 2011
    23
    4
    0
    Sign into malwarebytes site, add license to account and deactivate computers.
     
  10. SPDIF

    SPDIF MDL Junior Member

    Mar 30, 2014
    80
    37
    0
    #12 SPDIF, Apr 2, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2019
    Writing over the Malwarebytes folder does not work!!! Malwarebytes TIES the License key to your unique computer ID, same way as windows 10 does with a key.
    Everything is stored on the license server from MWB now. If your HDD fails or it is impossible to repair windows, then you loose 1 count of your key. After 3 activation's with the same key on your PC or another one, you will get this error.
    Even if you made a fresh install on the same computer, the unique ID is different now, and you loose 1 activation from 3.
    Edit 05/2019: As for now, Malwarebytes changed policy a bit, 1 Key=1PC, no more 3 activation's allowed from now on. Only 1 activation is allowed with same key.

    It is possible to have your count back down if you:

    1) Uninstall MWB on your computer, where the license server will add +1, and have one try free again.
    2) In MWB Account menu, click on DEACTIVATE LICENSE, this too will give you back the key, with you can use for another PC, or a fresh install.
    3) In your Malwarebytes Account, Deactivate your old or not working PC.

    This only works if NO ONE ELSE use the same key!!!

    If you get the error that the key is used too many times, then only MWB can help you. Go to their forum, sign in there and make a request on the forum. You will get a ticket number where the team will gladly help you, as long your key is legal!
    I had the same problem with some fresh installations, and MWB helped me give back my License Key. They also tied the license key to My Account on their site, so now i can deactivate any key by myself if anything happens.
    Make sure you have proof of your purchase by hand, as they will ask for it. If so, they will gladly help you out of trouble in a few days. They have a good and friendly service.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Gimpydog

    Gimpydog MDL Novice

    Feb 22, 2013
    3
    0
    0
    if u paid for malewarebytes like i did i have and account with my info an payments an invoice an activation's.
    under my account u get all devices that had access to your product key, and u can deactivate them an reactivate Ur devices.

    if its a key u bought off eBay or another web site u will not have access to malewarebytes control panel with your license on it.
    this means ur key been generated an cracked so ur key wont no longer work. THERE IS NOT NO LIFETIME KEYS SINCE 2005
    THERE ALL PRESCRIPTIONS NOW PER MONTH OR YEAR ....

    I HOPE THIS HELPS
     
  12. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2012
    1,366
    474
    60
    Everything else is correct, but here is a little mistake:
    You wrote:
    But it should be 2015. If You want, I can also say the date, when all old keys was possible to change to new ones. And if the old keys were not changed, they aren't no longer valid.
    Old activation keys look like this:
    ID = 5MH38
    Key = XU22-P5LT-R2MB-9TR9
    New keys look like this
    MC5HJ-J3ZGY-JKR16-JD76Q
    NB! Both of keys have been changed and they are not usable.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. usermydigitallyfe

    usermydigitallyfe MDL Novice

    Oct 30, 2016
    36
    27
    0
    Sign into - My Account on malwarebytes.com , add license to account and deactivate all devices / computers. And then try to activate. Check for how many devices you activate licenses 1 or 3
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2012
    1,366
    474
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. ipx

    ipx MDL Senior Member

    May 24, 2017
    265
    237
    10
    assumption.

    misinformation.

    untrue.

    subscriptions ;)