Can't boot from EFI mode after do some change in original MSDN Win8 ISO. Help please!

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by 5856898, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. 5856898

    5856898 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2012
    72
    32
    0
    Hey guys,

    I just added the ei.cfg file into my original MSDN ISO by UltraISO, saved the modification and burned the ISO to DVD disc afterwards, but now I discovered that it didn't give me an option to boot from EFI mode. only legacy mode works. How can I fix this? any suggestion? Thanks...:worthy:
     
  2. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    wat do u mean... ei.cfg was never ment to change the boot type from legacy to EFI... it was just to skip the product key installation (off course for time being... u have to install it later either in oobe or after complete install) and help choose the required edition...
     
  3. 5856898

    5856898 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2012
    72
    32
    0
    @adit123tya

    of course I know what's ei.cfg used for....I just put it into original ISO without any other change. All I want to do is boot from EFI Mode with the modified ISO to install my clean OS on GPT disk.
     
  4. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    Is EFI enabled in bios...
     
  5. 5856898

    5856898 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2012
    72
    32
    0
    Of course enabled in bios.
    The original MSDN ISO before adding ei.cfg can be booted from EFI...
     
  6. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    how did u install the first time
     
  7. qaqaq

    qaqaq MDL Novice

    Nov 1, 2012
    11
    0
    0
    Sorry, i have problem with efi mode. My bootscreen (in the windows logo), it's display only 1024x768 resolution, at metro ui and deskop is normal (1366x768)
    But at legacy mode, all right, in the windows logo and deskop, metro ui, all display 1366x768 ?
    what reason ?:busted_red:
     
  8. Hng55

    Hng55 MDL Novice

    Oct 18, 2012
    27
    17
    0
    Read carefully till page two then you will know why:

    forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/39726-Install-Win-8-on-VMware-with-EFI
     
  9. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    ist of all... all of that is for VMware and not physical pc... second thing for me I didn't do any of that... but still my pc is GPT parted and boots through EFI accept that intel yet has to confirm that my mobo supports secure boot
     
  10. Kiwonks

    Kiwonks MDL Novice

    Aug 9, 2009
    13
    0
    0
    I have the same issue
    after following threads:" Create a Windows 8 Pro with media center iso only", my dvd installation can not boot as uefi boot and can not install in gpt partition
     
  11. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,730
    6,677
    270
    #12 EFA11, Nov 25, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  12. mdlguy10

    mdlguy10 MDL Novice

    Jul 10, 2010
    31
    13
    0
    Here is a tip for those wanting to do an EFI installation.

    DO NOT use PowerISO to make your final ISO image. It destroys the EFI boot record so when you make a DVD, it won't boot via EFI.

    Only UltraISO 9.53 (or later) will preserve the EFI boot record so the resulting DVD will boot properly via EFI.
     
  13. 5856898

    5856898 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2012
    72
    32
    0
    You're right, I've resolved my problem with the latest UltraISO. everything works fine now.
    So, Thank you guys.
     
  14. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    I don't understand y u guys use third party tools to create a bootable iso of win 8... u can always use the Oscdimg that comes with Windows ADK
     
  15. 5856898

    5856898 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2012
    72
    32
    0
    I just want to do some change in the bootable ISO. so use 3rd party tool should be the best way to do this.
     
  16. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    I don't think so extract the files from iso to a folder and when editing is complete use the oscdimg... commandline true but its for sure it doesnot mess with bootsector of iso
     
  17. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,730
    6,677
    270
    I like using USB. once it is bootable, you can edit add etc without having to do any saving or creating the iso again.