can't personalise windows 8.1

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by koolsam, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. koolsam

    koolsam MDL Novice

    Aug 16, 2012
    20
    0
    0
    #1 koolsam, Oct 21, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2013
    can't personalise windows 8.1.Can't change the background color of start screen...
     
  2. Jessica Alba

    Jessica Alba MDL Expert

    Jul 26, 2009
    1,082
    2,186
    60
    go to start screen - use charm bar click settings - click personalize.
     
  3. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,274
    1,166
    90
    If your system is not activated then you can't.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,160
    240
    how did you "activate" your system?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. hbhb

    hbhb MDL Expert

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,017
    263
    60
    definitely not MS way:biggrin:

     
  6. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,160
    240
    Yes I know :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. MatheusLPS

    MatheusLPS MDL Novice

    Jan 18, 2014
    1
    0
    0
    How to solve this?

    My win 8.1 says that is activated but I can only use 2GB of RAM of 8GB in total and cant personalise.

    bye
     
  8. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,160
    240
    same question as above: how did you "activate"?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    Fixed that for ya ;)
     
  10. parapher

    parapher MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2012
    323
    248
    10
    Even if you customize Win 8.1 by sending it to a beauty spa and give it an extreme makeover, it still looks like a pig with lipstick smeared all over it. You can't even customize Start screen tiles which become ugly multicolored vomit based on predominant icon colors... Win 7 is still the best OS and sadly Win 8.x doesn't come close. People are using Win 8.x because they want the 'latest and greatest' but it's only the latest, not the greatest. If/when Win 9 comes out and it will indeed be better, people will look back on Win 8.x and wonder why they ever bothered. But I already think that. MS couldn't make as big of a jump when going from XP to Win7 without a fail like Vista, nor could they go from Win7 to Win9 (or so we hope it will be any good) and Win 8.x is really just a joke. There is absolutely no benefit to running Win 8.x. Native USB 3 for a PE? Wooptido, how important... I'm over Win8.x, Win7 is the best and it looks like something I want to look at too. Desktop is an environment and I would rather look at a natural scene through glass than at a piece of cheap copy paper with caption buttons scribbled onto it (Win8.x interface). I also won't run Office 2013 as it's just ugly and has no benefit over Office 2010. Strict OpenXML? Joke, no other office vendor benefits from that and so nor will you, Office 2010 is as good or better for most people.
     
  11. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,160
    240
    @parapher
    sorry, not a single word answered op's question:eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. moderator

    moderator MDL Junior Member

    Oct 16, 2013
    80
    25
    0
    quit whining

    :offtopic:

    & you know for sure that windows 9 will be better because... :shisha:
     
  13. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    Because it's got a bigger number of course
     
  14. moderator

    moderator MDL Junior Member

    Oct 16, 2013
    80
    25
    0
    bite me

    after 1460 posts & 2 years on mdl that is what you came up with :eek:
     
  15. RJARRRPCGP

    RJARRRPCGP MDL Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    226
    20
    10
    Sounds like 32-bit version with onboard graphics taking some RAM. Even for a flagged copy, I never heard of a 2 GB-penalty.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...