Can't torrent anything at all

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by TKnuckles, Feb 1, 2018.

  1. TKnuckles

    TKnuckles MDL Junior Member

    Dec 10, 2017
    63
    12
    0
    #1 TKnuckles, Feb 1, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2018
    I need help. I can't torrent anything at all. My torrent client is qBittorrent and here is the problem:
    >The number of DHT nodes is 0 and I have no direct connections.
    >Trackers are timed out and there are no peers.
    I have this problem both on my laptop and desktop computer. Is there a way to fix this?
     
  2. TKnuckles

    TKnuckles MDL Junior Member

    Dec 10, 2017
    63
    12
    0
    #2 TKnuckles, Feb 1, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
    (OP)
    Also, my IP is dynamic, so port forwarding is impossible. Do I have to give you my settings?
     
  3. LostED

    LostED SVF Patch Lover

    Jul 30, 2009
    4,706
    11,240
    150
  4. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,835
    3,920
    180
    No it's not, 99% of people have dynamic IP, costs a fortune to get a static IP and generally only businesses will get them

    That's what UPnP in the router is for
     
  5. TKnuckles

    TKnuckles MDL Junior Member

    Dec 10, 2017
    63
    12
    0
    Well, internet wires in my area are not optical and getting a static IP costs maybe a fortune.
     
  6. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,245
    11,057
    340
    Why shouldn't it be possible to port forward?
    Dynamic IP addresses just means that it changes from time to time.

    Enable UPnP. Since ports are randomized per default UPnP adjusts forwarding
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Michaela Joy

    Michaela Joy MDL Crazy Lady

    Jul 26, 2012
    3,645
    3,941
    120
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. tommy_vercetti

    tommy_vercetti MDL Member

    Apr 3, 2008
    151
    15
    10
    Did this work before?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. TKnuckles

    TKnuckles MDL Junior Member

    Dec 10, 2017
    63
    12
    0
    Now it works.
     
  10. Iceberg86300

    Iceberg86300 MDL Novice

    Jun 21, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    So what was the problem & fix?
     
  11. TKnuckles

    TKnuckles MDL Junior Member

    Dec 10, 2017
    63
    12
    0
    I don't know. I reinstalled Windows before I installed qBittorrent. Now I have the problem again for some reason.
     
  12. TKnuckles

    TKnuckles MDL Junior Member

    Dec 10, 2017
    63
    12
    0
    Now I saw that DHT number is growing to 3 and shrinking back to 0.
     
  13. Kim100

    Kim100 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 17, 2009
    346
    95
    10
    #13 Kim100, Feb 19, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2018
    Try installing OneClickFirewall by Winaero, once installed it allows you to block a program or give full access to the internet with one click, if it is the firewall this might be a simple fix. It will take a few mins and if it doesnt work OneClickFirewall is still a handy tool to have on your PC. OneClickFirewall is great for stopping individual applications phoning home. Pesonally I doubt its the firewall, all the latest Torrent Clients open up the right ports on installation unless you are not accepting that option? Are you using Windows Firewall or some other third party offering? If you are using a third party firewall that will probably be the cause.

    I use dynamic IP without a problem, I assume that when you refer to a static IP you mean that you have not set up a static IP from your PC to your router? You had to do this once upon a time but those days are long gone.
     
  14. harve

    harve MDL Novice

    Feb 19, 2018
    6
    0
    0
    I have the same issue, let me know if you solve it
     
  15. forwardintofuture

    forwardintofuture MDL Junior Member

    Dec 7, 2016
    53
    40
    0
    Try to use another torrent client such as Deluge or Tixati. Perhaps its qbittorent which is having some problems.It was updated recently.
    Also, your ISP may be blocking your connection. One way to deal with this problem is to use a Vpn
    Try to use Kerish Doctor, a trial, because it is a paid product. There are tons of tools in it to fix and optimize network issues.
    And lastly you may try resetting your firewall settings, or reset your network adapters and restart your Pc.
    If you use a security suite, antivirus which has a firewall with it, it may cause some problems.:)
     
  16. Kim100

    Kim100 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 17, 2009
    346
    95
    10
    Qbittorrent is updated regularly, I am running the latest version 4.0.3 without a problem. I have not had a problem with any of the recent releases.
     
  17. kunjar

    kunjar MDL Novice

    Apr 3, 2012
    25
    4
    0
    I torrent through a VPN to be safe. okayfreedom/steganos have free giveaways for unlimited data for a year. decent speeds of 20mbit.
     
  18. gmaslin

    gmaslin MDL Novice

    Aug 19, 2010
    38
    0
    0
    I guess I haven't had to run a torrent in a while bu mine don't work anymore either using latest Tixati 2.5.7-1. A little research shows that MY ISP (Verizon) started blocking torrents since April 2018. I went into my router (A90-750015-07) and changed my DNS server from the default (westell.com) but that didn't help. does anyone know the nature of the block so I can figure out how to bypass it? I have a free VPN service but that didn't help either.
     
  19. achernov

    achernov MDL Novice

    Mar 28, 2017
    23
    2
    0
    I can only think for a VPS that allows torrents.