CCleaner's usage on Windows has become obsolete

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by WIKIMACK, Aug 5, 2016.

1. WIKIMACK

WIKIMACK MDL Expert

Nov 10, 2011
  2. BrianCohen

BrianCohen Guest

works great on 7. i back it up and run it as a portable and keep the settings ini with it. jv16s reg cleaner is better than cc cleaning the reistry though.

3. WIKIMACK

WIKIMACK MDL Expert

Nov 10, 2011
    only Windows 10

wiki;)

4. kaljukass

kaljukass MDL Guru

Nov 26, 2012
    Do they pay you well for this malicious propaganda?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Katzenfreund

Katzenfreund MDL Expert

Jul 15, 2016
    I had been using it for 10 years on XP without problems. But I did avoid its registry cleaner, as well as any other registry cleaner. I haven't tried it on Windows 10 yet, and you've made me scared.

I agree that the Windows Disk Cleanup tool would not cause problems, but it can't do what CCleaner does. For example, it can't selectively clear cookies, leaving the ones you want untouched. Furthermore, before running CCleaner, I always ran the Windows tool first, and then CCleaner would find a lot more stuff left behind by the former.

6. TairikuOkami

TairikuOkami MDL Expert

Mar 15, 2014
    #6 TairikuOkami, Aug 5, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2016
    From my experience, just run CCleaner and 90% problems magically disappear, it is like a Swiss knife.
    Besides, CCleaner is mostly a browser cleaner, not a system one, like WiseCare or DiskCleanup.
    As always, they mention reg cleaner, which is so primitively basic in CCleaner, that it is safe.:coffee:

CCleaner does, whatever the user wants. It is like saying, porsche sucks, because it can go faster that is a speed limit. :facepalm:

7. EFA11

EFA11 Avatar Guru

Oct 7, 2010
    well... Porsche does suck ;)

8. ThomasMann

ThomasMann MDL Expert

Dec 31, 2015
    Very well put.....