Change mobo without reinstalling Windows XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by gabris[LT], Jan 16, 2012.

  1. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10
    Hello, so I have changed motherboard in clients PC, from some intel with i865 to asus k8u-x and, windows doesn't want to load, hangs and auto restarts on agp440.sys, but as far as I remember some PC's were starting normally in safe mode after changing mobos, so I want to ask, is there some way to reintegrate/force windows to use default drivers offline, like from recovery console?
     
  2. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,511
    66,655
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sepehrst

    sepehrst MDL Novice

    May 15, 2008
    11
    4
    0
    Since you have switched the mobo from Intel to AMD, it seems it's more related to IDE/SATA/Raid controller problerm rather than agp440.sys
    or it could be a mixture of the both. I meen, may be agp440.sys is one of the causes to boot failure but its not the only one.
    You should first install the missing disk controller drivers before trying anything else.

    anyway, if you couldnt manage to boot windows, come back here and I'll try my best to help you.
     
  4. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10
    #4 gabris[LT], Jan 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
    (OP)
    ok, I will check it. :)
    Windows is more or less automated OS not like Linux, so I think if to "press the right button" it should work :)

    some post googled:
    P.S. Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. But I'm trying that for the first time :D (with different CPU brands)
     
  5. sepehrst

    sepehrst MDL Novice

    May 15, 2008
    11
    4
    0
    those mobos are both ACPI and MPS compliant so HAL should not be a problem.
    Although Intel CPU driver (intelppm.sys) may cause boot failure. in that case it could be disabled.
     
  6. sepehrst

    sepehrst MDL Novice

    May 15, 2008
    11
    4
    0
    Take a look at this: hxxp://support.microsoft.com/kb/314082

    The solution in that article only works if your new mobo sata ports can operate in legacy IDE mode.

    If they can only operate in AHCI or RAID mode, there is still a solution. you can make your own registry script that targets k8u-x AHCI/RAID controller by extracting your mobo's AHCI/RAID controller VEN and DEV numbers from driver inf file.

    I've done this for Intel AHCI/RAID controllers before. see this thread: hxxp://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/11549-Enabling-AHCI-RAID-mode-after-installing-windows

    I cant post links, so I've prefixed them with hxxp
     
  7. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10

    XP doesn't have sysprep, well, if HT technology is called multicore, then I will be facing problems.
    CPU specs - was: Intel s478 P4 3.0GHz with HT enabled, would be nice to do: Sempron 2600+ s754
    Thanks, I think I will need that! :D

    Hmm... and smart question, how can I do that? :)
     
  8. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10
    Thanks again, I will need that :D
    about image the drive, I think I need that, but don't have software for that :D
     
  9. sepehrst

    sepehrst MDL Novice

    May 15, 2008
    11
    4
    0
    read the first replay DAZ posted:
    hxxp://support.microsoft.com/kb/324764

    This article describes how to disable agp440. you can do the same with intelppm

    but its too early for disabling any of these services.
    you have to solve it step by step. dont jump in to the middle of the solution. it may not be nessasary or even it may cause new problems.

    1. The first concern is about HAL. but since both your old and new mobos are ACPI Multiprocessor mobos, the HAL is the same.
    please note that switching between Single Core and Multi Core processors does not cause any problems. Windows will always load the approprate kernel and hal, provided that the underlying harware architecture is the same(ACPI, APIC, PIC,..)

    And yes, Hyperthreading is considered multicore.
    So HAL is not a problem.

    2. The second concern is the presence of critical boot drivers. (SCSI, IDE, RAID, AHCI,...). if thay are not installed windows can not go any further. my previous post contains the solution. I can prepare the registry script and required driver files for you. It will not take much time. but you have to import the settings in to your windows registry before attaching the Harddisk to your new mobo. if the old mobo is still functional, the simplest way to do this is to boot windows by your old mobo, import the settings to the registry and copy driver files to system32\drivers directory and attach the Harddisk to the new mobo. if its not possible to boot by the old mobo, things will get a little tricky but its not too hard. but at this this time I cant go any further. I need to know if your old mobo is functional and you can boot with that or not.

    3. After you've done completing the step 2, there is a high chance that windows will able to boot. But if failed, its time to identify the driver(s) that causes the problem. Since you have switched from Intel to AMD, the first candidate is intelppm.sys
    and there may be other drivers that will cause the failure. this should be checked after completing step 2.
     
  10. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10
    Motherboard is still able to boot using that hdd. It would be great if you can prepare the registry script, because I've tried to boot using "Disable automatic restart on system failure" and got 0x0000007B(usually SATA driver problems)
     
  11. sepehrst

    sepehrst MDL Novice

    May 15, 2008
    11
    4
    0
    #12 sepehrst, Jan 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2012
    Here you go:

    Generic IDE Registry script and drivers:
    hxxp://mediafire.com/file/ayx7s7nhg0742m1/Generic_IDE_Merge.zip

    Asus K8U-X M5289 SATA/RAID Controller Registry script and drivers:
    hxxp://mediafire.com/file/e7z0do9z3h7l8z9/K8U-X-M5289_SATA-RAID_Merge.zip

    As you said, while you are booting with your old mobo you can disable intelppm and agp440 services.
    setting the value HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\intelppm\Start to 4 will do the job.

    Good Luck.
     
  12. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10
    thanks, will check tomorrow. :)
     
  13. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10
    #14 gabris[LT], Jan 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2012
    (OP)
    Works. I have only integrated IDE/SATA drivers. CPU driver switched automatically. :) windows was restarting in normal mode, but loaded and reconfigured drivers in safe mode. :)
    Thanks a lot sepehrst, you are genius! :D
    UPDATE:
    still keeps restarting in normal mode BSOD with 0x00000007E
    Disabled Intel CPU driver, starts in normal mode, everything's fine.

    After turning on Windows in normal mode it gave me error with code 7e saying something about TCP/IP, reinstalled network drivers and added IPV6, now works without any glitch :) leaving PC overnight with Prime95 to further testing.
     
  14. sepehrst

    sepehrst MDL Novice

    May 15, 2008
    11
    4
    0
    Glad to hear that. Hope all goes well.
     
  15. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,964
    1,821
    180
    While XP can be moved from ANY to ANY hardware without re-install, in place upgrade is a way better option if the hardware differ a lot

    sebus
     
  16. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10
    everything is fine, that 7e error I almost always got on MB's with ULi sata raid... hope it will go well :biggrin5:
    motherboard is runing prime95 for about 30hours for now. Still no bugs.
     
  17. delta925

    delta925 MDL Novice

    Nov 30, 2010
    36
    6
    0
    Sounds like you are sorted but, assuming you had XP CD and the matching key, a Windows repair would have been less hassle.
    All your apps etc would still be installed and Windows Update ought to have picked up latest drivers for the new mobo.
     
  18. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10
    It's XP, windows update very rarely can find drivers. :)
    And repair would cause a lot of registry errors, like lost licenses of installed software.
     
  19. delta925

    delta925 MDL Novice

    Nov 30, 2010
    36
    6
    0
    I have never lost application licences or setups / preferences as a result of a Windows repair.

    I admit I normally download and install the latest drivers just as for a clean installation rather than relying on Windows update.